Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This recipe is excellent and highly recommended! I use a bunch of garlic both minced and full cloves and toss in some finely sliced red bell peppers to give the jars a nice little touch of color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
These are fantastic. Made them last yea -- making them again right now -- and they'll be my go-to dill pickle recipe from now on. I made 1/2 my batch last year with grape leaves and 1/2 without. The ones with grape leaves were noticeably crisper so this year they are all getting them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
NEED TO KNOW... a lot of recipes for canning pickles often leave out this important tip. If you don't want mushy pickles, you need to trim 1/4 off each end of the cucumbers. The end connecting to the vine has an enzyme that makes mushy pickles. Frustrates me when I see recipes leave this off, because its hard work..you want good pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Fantastic! I skimped on the garlic because I thought that 2 cloves per jar would be too much. Now I regret it. My pickles turned out with a good bit of garlic taste just not as much as I like. But I sure can't fault the recipe for that! I'll be making these pickles every summer now. Maybe mincing the garlic up instead of halving the cloves. Thanks much. My friends won't stop hounding me for pickles! ALSO! If you add a single sliced jalapeno with seeds per jar you wind up with the BEST spicy dill pickles I've ever had in my life! Unbelievable! I'll never change this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
i found this recipe 3 years ago,and have been using it ever since. I soak mine for about 4 hours and wow are they ever crunchy. thank you fro sharing it with us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This is a great, tangy pickle juice recipe that could use a little less garlic, but is overall very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is THE pickle recipe, no doubt about it. You can also use this recipe as the base for pickling other stuff, like green beans. TROUBLESHOOTING YOUR PICKLES Unfortunately, Allrecipes doesn't have a great way to search through the comments or reply to people, so useful comments get buried, so most of these topics have been covered but people are asking so I'm bringing it to the top. Pickles too salty: this can happen if you leave the brine boiling for an extended period, boiling off water and leaving a high salt concentration. Pickles too mushy: you may have processed the jars in the boiling water too long. Many people successfully seal the jars by boiling them upside down with water just above the lid for 5-10 minutes. A 15 minute immersion boil is to keep the lawyers happy. OR you may have used cucumbers that were too large or old. They need to be small and young--think of the size you see in the pickle section of the supermarket. Try to get the greenest, wartiest ones of the bunch. OR enzymes from the blossom end of the cucumber may be sabotaging you. Cut 1/8" off the blossom end before placing in the jars. What's Pickling Salt? It is not the same as Pickling Spice. It is basically non-iodized salt. Kosher salt works really well. Iodized salt will make your pickles blue! Try to use a ceramic or Teflon coated pot for the brine; contact with metal clouds vinegar solutions, and you may not be able to tell later if the cloudiness indicates spoilage. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I thought these were extremely salty and sour. i followed the recipe exactly but scaled it down to do the few cucumbers i had in my garden. they could have been crunchier but i chalk that up to the fact i used pretty large cucumbers. 2 or 3 to the jars i had. they were a little mushy in the center. But by far the main issue was how salty they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Not as crispy as I would have liked, but the taste is perfect -- every bit as good as the most expensive from the specialty store shelves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made my first batch of these about 3-4 weeks ago, so they really haven't had enough brine time. I cheated a little on my last jar--I decided not to seal it and just make refrigerator pickles instead. I just was lazy, really, as my canner holds 7 jars and I didn't feel like canning the 8th jar. At any rate, I've tried the ones I made into refrigerator pickles and they are pretty good. Not fully flavored just yet--I can distinguish separate flavors, but still really good. I totally screwed up and used pickling spice instead of pickling salt. For those of you who are wondering, no, it's not the same thing. Pickling salt is actual salt without any impurities (so you can probably use regular salt in a pinch)--pickling spice has mustard seed, cloves, cinnamon, allspice, ginger, mace, and a few other ingredients I'm not remembering at this moment. So, this batch will be spicy in comparison to what the recipe reads but that's okay. I made another batch of these a week ago with actual pickling salt so we'll see how different that one is when I break open those jars. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States