Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
These had the perfect crunchy texture, but they were very garlicky. I would call them garlic pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I like it better when the water has cooled. Other reviewers agree. I now make the recipe with whatever dill I have and sea salt. The smaller version is 3 parts water to 1 part white vinegar. Ajust sea salt and dill, and garlic. I like to add pickling spice. These don't last very long inour house. I like them the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
just perfect nice crunch and excellent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These were not very good, quite soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I never made pickles before. These were easy and pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Lovely! I waited a bit too long after harvest to process, so they didn't turn out as crunchy as I like, but that's my screwup. Next time I'll be more vigilant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
These pickles are awesome made in hamburger slices.. I tried spears,whole, and slices.. Slices were the hit in my house.. They were eatting a jar a day... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Make sure you use pickling cucumbers. I did this recipe first with what was on hand - Marketmore slicer cucumbers I had grown. The flavor was good but they were mushy. Tried it again with pickling cucumbers purchased at Sprouts and they turned out fantastic. Crisp, flavorful, and better than any store-bought pickle I've had. I like to throw in some whole peppercorns and jalapeno slices for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I also trim the top of the pickle about 1/4". The end where the stem is connected will leave a tart taste. For a little extra zing I add one hungarian waxed pepper for each jar. Slice the top only and leave the seeds in. I definitely agree soaking the cukes is essential. You can also add two teaspoons of alum to the brine to keep them firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Pickles mushy? Here's one solution. The end of the cucumber that held the flower contains an enzyme, that if not removed, will cause your pickles to be soft. While cold water bath etc will help, if you do not trim the flower end off the cucumber, it will be soft when pickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States