Dill Pickle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Great recipe! I did take the advice of 1 comment though, sauteed some leeks in the butter at the beginning and used 2 tsp salt instead of 4 tsp onion salt. (cutting back on sodium in my diet). Also only had 5% cream in the house and it was great. My only change I might make, (my wife disagrees but she did not make the soup...LOL) i might increase either the pickles or the dill weed, found curry as the prominent flavor, although I like curry so I would not decrease it. Thanks for a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOEANDSUE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I came across this looking up pickle recipes and had to try it even though I was worried. Everyone loved it! I added diced potatoes and ground beef to make it more of a meal. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Barber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
It was a bit salty. We didnt have onion salt so I used regular salt, but I reduced the salt to 3 tsp instead of the 4 it calls for. Still, I think it was a bit too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Excellent soup. Tasted great both before and after adding the dill and curry. Not super pickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Wonderful soup. I am a big dill pickle fan, always have them on hand so this is a soup that I can make often. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Way too salty, I would leave out the juice and replace the onion salt with a tad bit more onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
a very light soup. I used organic pickles, which have a slightly different taste... I always interrogate hubby about any new recipe I make, and he said he "wouldn't change a thing" (unusual for him). I do agree, it would be really good with rice... mmmm... doesn't really taste of pickles.. Naan would be terrific with this... well, the addition of Naan makes everything better... thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Awesome combination of flavors! I took the suggestions of adding real onions to the butter and sauteeing before creating the roux, added diced, peeled potatoes to the broth before the pickles, and used more pickles than called for because I love pickles. I have made this recipe dozens of times since I first tried it and it never fails to please. It is so quick and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Yummy!! I love pickles so its not surprising that I like this soup :D I added some celery carrots and potatoes like some other people had said. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was just ok for me. I love love love dill and dill pickles so I was really looking forward to this. Something just didn't quite work for me; I think it was the texture. I liked the taste, but the texture was just a bit off for me. It's def worth trying; it just wasn't my favorite. Thanks for a nice change of pace soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States