Dill Pickle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I have used this site for years and this so far is my favorite recipe on the entire site. YUM! I like that soup is good served at any temperature. I can't make it too often because I will eat the entire batch alone. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Love this! Like everyone else, I was skeptical-- definitely give this a try! A few small changes made this a hit in my house: sautéed 1/2 chopped vidalia onion and the garlic in the butter. Raw garlic is not my thing. I needed about 5T of butter to be able to whisk the flour in, but I was also using a stockpot. Skipped the onion salt, and added about a 1t of kosher salt instead, a few dashes of cayenne, and a few grinds of black pepper. I also chopped up 2 medium red-skinned potatoes: added one with the spices & pickles, and simmered. Then used my stick blender to puree before adding the milk (I actually used 1/2 and 1/2 as that's all we had). Added the other chopped potato pieces and simmered until tender before stirring in the milk. The result was a creamy texture with perfectly balanced flavors. Will be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babycake1210

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
We made this pretty closely to the directions, but finely minced half a small onion and used about 1/2 tsp of salt instead of using the onion salt. We added one potato diced to about 1/2". I used some Claussen pickle and a small McClure spicy pickle. It added just a little zip. We will definitely make again and share with the rest of our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Yum. I also added more pickles and juice, a and diced potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Added diced red potatoes, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Well that was interesting and fun. I told my 17 year old granddaughter that I had a new soup for her to try. She loves my homemade soups I told her I made dill pickle soup and said "yuk". She tried it though and then had another bowl. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Delicious! Mind turned out restaurant quality. I didn't have onion salt so I used onion powder and I'm glad I did. I think it would have been far too salty. I added potatoes too because I had some leftover from dinner the night before. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I had 3 cartons, (12cups) of chicken broth so I nearly doubled the recipe. It was brothy. Not sure if it was suppose to be thicker. I added extra flour to while it was boiling. I took a bit of the broth and mixed it with the flour before dumping it in so it wouldn't clump. Still was brothy. But I tried it and loved it! I will make it for my friends when we go up north in the Michigan tundra. Live the kick to it because of the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
i love dill and I love curry so I thought i'd be in love with this soup. Unfortunately, I don't. in order for me to eat it, I have to crush up saltines in it. I made this recipe exactly as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I love dill pickles, so this was a "no-brainer" for me. However, even after doubling the pickles & juice, I wanted more of the dill flavor. I will make this again with 4x those 2 items, and maybe add a bit of sour cream to thicken it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States