Dill Pickle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This soup is so smooth and buttery. I followed the recipe exactly as written and would not change a thing. Serving with ham and grilled cheese for a quick dinner bc my oldest son has a football game. Satisfying enough to fill but not too much to weigh him down. Will def use a lot this fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This soup is great - I like how the curry adds a little kick - only difference is I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk. Making it again this weekend for a football party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I needed a recipe to take care of all the extra dill pickles from Christmas and this soup fit the bill. It was surprisingly delicious & didn't taste at all like a dill pickle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather K.
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Yes, I did submit this, but I thought I'd review it as well. It's one of my favorites! It doesn't have a strong pickle flavor, but rather all the spices combine to give it a very unique taste. I found a similar recipe a long time ago and have modified it by my tastes to what you see posted here. I love it. I hope you enjoy it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made this for company but wouldn't tell anyone the name of this soup until they tasted it. Everyone LOVED this soup, even my mom who doesn't like dill pickles. It was a big hit & I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This soup was delicious. My only change was to add a small onion to the butter in the beginning, because I don't like onion salt. Surprisingly the pickles, juice, milk and curry powder worked. UPDATE: I've made this one several times in the past few months. Everybody, including those who don't like pickles says this is the best soup they're ever had. At first I started adding onions to the beginning of the soup. I now use a bunch of leeks, sliced thinly and washed instead of the onions at the beginning of making the soup. The leeks add to the creaminess, and they're an amazing mild compliment to the strong pickled dills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was so good and creamy! I used soy milk, which I think made it a bit too sweet, so I would use regular milk next time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Fantastic! This soup was wonderful with our mini burgers. I did add a little extra pickle and juice, because I looove dill pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonBonChihuahuas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This is really good! It sounds weird but you've got to try it. Not too pickle-y, just warm comforting soup with a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This recipe was an amazing surprise. It really does taste gourmet enough to be in a fancy restaurant. It was delicious!!! It will be a new regular at our soup and bread bowl parties. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States