Dill Pickle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I am giving this a five due to the creativity, the uniqueness of it, the overall easy preperation, and the wonderful flavor combination that made it have its own exotic taste. I did change of a few things yes but with the exception of the 4 tsps. of onion salt, I think the recipe would be very tasty as written. I boiled some peeled diced potatoes in chicken stock as I browned about a half of pound of ground beef and then later added both to the soup ( I like a more hearty soup). I used more pickles and juice and even left some of my pickles in bigger hunks because I really wanted to taste the pickles. VERY good and very unique and even though this is not a soup I would want on a weekly basis, I will be making it over and over throughout the years. Oh, also thought I'd mention that for me 2 tablespoons of butter was not enough to whisk a 1/2 cup of flour but that might have just been me. Pretty simple fix to just keep adding butter until you get your flour smooth but thought I'd mention it in case anyone had any troubles there. Thank you for the most unusual soup this soup loving gal has ever tried!*****update*****I have made this soup 3 times now and it turns out a little different each time but always good. I used pickles with tobasco sauce this go around and that added a nice kick. I do think potatoes are a must and I left out the ground beef this time but will be adding it back next go around. This one has become a favorite in my house. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This soup was delicious. My only change was to add a small onion to the butter in the beginning, because I don't like onion salt. Surprisingly the pickles, juice, milk and curry powder worked. UPDATE: I've made this one several times in the past few months. Everybody, including those who don't like pickles says this is the best soup they're ever had. At first I started adding onions to the beginning of the soup. I now use a bunch of leeks, sliced thinly and washed instead of the onions at the beginning of making the soup. The leeks add to the creaminess, and they're an amazing mild compliment to the strong pickled dills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I was surprised by this soup. I expected it to taste a lot like pickles, but the other seasonings really melded well. I might try to decrease the salt next time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather K.
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Yes, I did submit this, but I thought I'd review it as well. It's one of my favorites! It doesn't have a strong pickle flavor, but rather all the spices combine to give it a very unique taste. I found a similar recipe a long time ago and have modified it by my tastes to what you see posted here. I love it. I hope you enjoy it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made this for company but wouldn't tell anyone the name of this soup until they tasted it. Everyone LOVED this soup, even my mom who doesn't like dill pickles. It was a big hit & I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This is a real sleeper. Do not let the name fool you. Simple and easy to make. Spicy not for the faint of heart.If the name had a fancy name it would be a money maker in top restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Yummy!! I love pickles so its not surprising that I like this soup :D I added some celery carrots and potatoes like some other people had said. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was just ok for me. I love love love dill and dill pickles so I was really looking forward to this. Something just didn't quite work for me; I think it was the texture. I liked the taste, but the texture was just a bit off for me. It's def worth trying; it just wasn't my favorite. Thanks for a nice change of pace soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Love this soup. Preferably, a few boiled potatoes (cubed) gives some substance and makes tastier. An unexpected and unique flavor combination. This is a true gourmet recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
It was a bit salty. We didnt have onion salt so I used regular salt, but I reduced the salt to 3 tsp instead of the 4 it calls for. Still, I think it was a bit too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States