Dill Pickle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I love this soup. It taste as wonderful as the dill pickle soup I've had at the authentic polish restaurant. I followed the recipe exactly. Yum I could eat it everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was really good pickle soup, although the flavor was more curryish than pickly. It didn't taste like I expected, but I'm still going to give it five stars because it was stellar. A very very good, creamy, buttery, sort of exotic tasting soup that was freaking fabulous with grilled cheese sandwiches. This might be an even better dipper than the classic tomato soup. My husband and I ate the whole batch in one day. I wish I had some right now. I used fresh and dry dill, and increased the pickle juice just by a couple of tablespoons. I feel like I left the pickle chunks too big so I will be sure to chop them finer next time. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I really enjoyed this soup but I don't think it's something you could have very often. The flavor of this soup is very strong. To give it a little more fullness I added a half cup of cooked rice to each bowl before pouring the soup on top. It worked out great. My sister actually made the suggestion that you could free it in smaller containers and use it to flavor rice in the future. Overall, a great recipe if your looking for something flavorful and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I wasn't overly crazy about this. It had an ok flavor, not very pickle-y. My husband and 7 year old son thought it was really good, I thought it was "ok."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I first had this soup at a Polish restaurant years ago, and this recipe is right up there with it. So savory and easy to make, and the leftovers are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This soup blew my mind. I served it to my roommates and they agree-- it's incredible. I didn't use dill weed or bay leaves, but it tasted fantastic all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoomasRayluff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This soup was delicious. My only change was to add a small onion to the butter in the beginning, because I don't like onion salt. Surprisingly the pickles, juice, milk and curry powder worked. UPDATE: I've made this one several times in the past few months. Everybody, including those who don't like pickles says this is the best soup they're ever had. At first I started adding onions to the beginning of the soup. I now use a bunch of leeks, sliced thinly and washed instead of the onions at the beginning of making the soup. The leeks add to the creaminess, and they're an amazing mild compliment to the strong pickled dills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This recipe was an amazing surprise. It really does taste gourmet enough to be in a fancy restaurant. It was delicious!!! It will be a new regular at our soup and bread bowl parties. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
It was okay. I have had better. i don't think you need the sugar and less of the pickle juice. Over all, not as good as I have had in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This soup is great - I like how the curry adds a little kick - only difference is I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk. Making it again this weekend for a football party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States