Dill Pickle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
It was a bit salty. We didnt have onion salt so I used regular salt, but I reduced the salt to 3 tsp instead of the 4 it calls for. Still, I think it was a bit too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Excellent soup. Tasted great both before and after adding the dill and curry. Not super pickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Wonderful soup. I am a big dill pickle fan, always have them on hand so this is a soup that I can make often. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Way too salty, I would leave out the juice and replace the onion salt with a tad bit more onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
a very light soup. I used organic pickles, which have a slightly different taste... I always interrogate hubby about any new recipe I make, and he said he "wouldn't change a thing" (unusual for him). I do agree, it would be really good with rice... mmmm... doesn't really taste of pickles.. Naan would be terrific with this... well, the addition of Naan makes everything better... thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Awesome combination of flavors! I took the suggestions of adding real onions to the butter and sauteeing before creating the roux, added diced, peeled potatoes to the broth before the pickles, and used more pickles than called for because I love pickles. I have made this recipe dozens of times since I first tried it and it never fails to please. It is so quick and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Yummy!! I love pickles so its not surprising that I like this soup :D I added some celery carrots and potatoes like some other people had said. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was just ok for me. I love love love dill and dill pickles so I was really looking forward to this. Something just didn't quite work for me; I think it was the texture. I liked the taste, but the texture was just a bit off for me. It's def worth trying; it just wasn't my favorite. Thanks for a nice change of pace soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I am giving this a five due to the creativity, the uniqueness of it, the overall easy preperation, and the wonderful flavor combination that made it have its own exotic taste. I did change of a few things yes but with the exception of the 4 tsps. of onion salt, I think the recipe would be very tasty as written. I boiled some peeled diced potatoes in chicken stock as I browned about a half of pound of ground beef and then later added both to the soup ( I like a more hearty soup). I used more pickles and juice and even left some of my pickles in bigger hunks because I really wanted to taste the pickles. VERY good and very unique and even though this is not a soup I would want on a weekly basis, I will be making it over and over throughout the years. Oh, also thought I'd mention that for me 2 tablespoons of butter was not enough to whisk a 1/2 cup of flour but that might have just been me. Pretty simple fix to just keep adding butter until you get your flour smooth but thought I'd mention it in case anyone had any troubles there. Thank you for the most unusual soup this soup loving gal has ever tried!*****update*****I have made this soup 3 times now and it turns out a little different each time but always good. I used pickles with tobasco sauce this go around and that added a nice kick. I do think potatoes are a must and I left out the ground beef this time but will be adding it back next go around. This one has become a favorite in my house. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I love this soup. It taste as wonderful as the dill pickle soup I've had at the authentic polish restaurant. I followed the recipe exactly. Yum I could eat it everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States