Dill Pickle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
The flour/butter ratio for the roux is very off, as one reviewer mentioned. I trusted the recipe, even though I thought it was off and ended up having to fish chunks of flour out. I thickened it with a cornstarch slurry, so it turned out fine, but just make sure you have enough butter to make your flour smooth before adding the broth. The soup is very unique. I like it but would add more pickles and less curry for my own preferences. I don't think it is spicy unless you are sensitive to spicy foods, and though it is good I probably would not recommend for people you don't know, serve it to people when you know their tastes. If they are picky or don't have an adventurous palate they may not like it. Definitely probably not one for kids. If you're not sure, make a small batch for yourself, which is what I did. It's easy and good and if you like pickles/curry you will like it. Also, it is good both before and after adding the milk, so if you like a brothy soup you could probably omit the milk altogether (although that would reduce the portions!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina Strickland
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I am not overly keen on pickles in general but my daughter and husband love them. So I decided to give this recipe a try and I have to admit that I love it! I was pleased with how quick and easy it is to make and that I had all the Ingredients already on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Strickland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I liked it but the family didn't so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I have used this site for years and this so far is my favorite recipe on the entire site. YUM! I like that soup is good served at any temperature. I can't make it too often because I will eat the entire batch alone. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Love this! Like everyone else, I was skeptical-- definitely give this a try! A few small changes made this a hit in my house: sautéed 1/2 chopped vidalia onion and the garlic in the butter. Raw garlic is not my thing. I needed about 5T of butter to be able to whisk the flour in, but I was also using a stockpot. Skipped the onion salt, and added about a 1t of kosher salt instead, a few dashes of cayenne, and a few grinds of black pepper. I also chopped up 2 medium red-skinned potatoes: added one with the spices & pickles, and simmered. Then used my stick blender to puree before adding the milk (I actually used 1/2 and 1/2 as that's all we had). Added the other chopped potato pieces and simmered until tender before stirring in the milk. The result was a creamy texture with perfectly balanced flavors. Will be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babycake1210

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
We made this pretty closely to the directions, but finely minced half a small onion and used about 1/2 tsp of salt instead of using the onion salt. We added one potato diced to about 1/2". I used some Claussen pickle and a small McClure spicy pickle. It added just a little zip. We will definitely make again and share with the rest of our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Yum. I also added more pickles and juice, a and diced potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Added diced red potatoes, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Well that was interesting and fun. I told my 17 year old granddaughter that I had a new soup for her to try. She loves my homemade soups I told her I made dill pickle soup and said "yuk". She tried it though and then had another bowl. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Delicious! Mind turned out restaurant quality. I didn't have onion salt so I used onion powder and I'm glad I did. I think it would have been far too salty. I added potatoes too because I had some leftover from dinner the night before. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States