Dill Pickle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
We made this pretty closely to the directions, but finely minced half a small onion and used about 1/2 tsp of salt instead of using the onion salt. We added one potato diced to about 1/2". I used some Claussen pickle and a small McClure spicy pickle. It added just a little zip. We will definitely make again and share with the rest of our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Yum. I also added more pickles and juice, a and diced potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Added diced red potatoes, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Well that was interesting and fun. I told my 17 year old granddaughter that I had a new soup for her to try. She loves my homemade soups I told her I made dill pickle soup and said "yuk". She tried it though and then had another bowl. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Delicious! Mind turned out restaurant quality. I didn't have onion salt so I used onion powder and I'm glad I did. I think it would have been far too salty. I added potatoes too because I had some leftover from dinner the night before. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I had 3 cartons, (12cups) of chicken broth so I nearly doubled the recipe. It was brothy. Not sure if it was suppose to be thicker. I added extra flour to while it was boiling. I took a bit of the broth and mixed it with the flour before dumping it in so it wouldn't clump. Still was brothy. But I tried it and loved it! I will make it for my friends when we go up north in the Michigan tundra. Live the kick to it because of the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
i love dill and I love curry so I thought i'd be in love with this soup. Unfortunately, I don't. in order for me to eat it, I have to crush up saltines in it. I made this recipe exactly as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I love dill pickles, so this was a "no-brainer" for me. However, even after doubling the pickles & juice, I wanted more of the dill flavor. I will make this again with 4x those 2 items, and maybe add a bit of sour cream to thicken it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I have make this soup several times over the years and it is always for time and time again. I have never changed anything, but after reading the reviews the hamburger and leeks would make for a nice addition once and awhile. And a note to SOUP LOVING NICOLE, you want the butter/flour to be crumbly so it can brown, not liquidy. I start all my gravies that way too. Anyway, thanks for an outstanding soup that is quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Loved this recipe! I added onions to the butter at the beginning and also added baby potatoes (with skin on) and shredded carrots after the broth was added. I have had dill pickles soup in restaurants and these had potatoes and carrots in them. Also omitted the onion salt as I used real onions. In place of all of the milk, I used 1/2 cup of half and half and 1 and 1/2 cups milk and added it as it was still cooking so that it was piping hot. Plus added tons of extra dill. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States