Dill Pickle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I just made this recipe and it is a good basic recipe but like some of the others, I did not think the curry added much other than a heat to the background. I used sodium free broth, so I did have to adjust the saltiness upward, but I always prefer to do that rather than have something too salty. I will look for the marinated garlic from the bottle of a pickle jar for use in this recipe, because that would be a match made in heaven. I had had a dill pickle soup in our Polish area of my city, so by comparison, the two had different "backgrounds" with the addition of the curry since I don't recall Polish recipes with curry very often. If I put curry in again, it will be 1/2 because I do love and crave curry at times, but the recipe as it stands was too much for my tastes. Potato is a great addition to this and I did up the pickle juice as well. For the person with "clumping" trouble with the flour roux, Wondra makes a great flour to prevent that. It's for gravy but the same idea that it is non-clumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I added potatoes & carrots, I used jerk seasoning in place of curry. A+ very creamy & unique blend of flavors! not an over powering pickle flavor at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Delicious and very warming on a cold spring day that feels like winter! I made half a recipe but kept the amounts of pickles and juice as for a whole recipe. I liked the pickle flavor this way, and I think it would have been a little bland if I lowered those amounts, too. Per other reviewers suggestions, I added three small chopped, cooked potatoes at the end, and this was a very good call. I used onion powder and added my own salt. Had some half-n-half that needed to be used so I added that until I got the color and flavor I liked, leaving out about 1/4 cup. Thanks Heather K. for the different and tasty soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is one of the strangest soups I've ever tasted. I doubt I will ever make this recipe again as I'm not exactly looking forward to the leftovers. Both the dill and curry powder are very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
just a little too sweet. I would go without the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
It was too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Add hash brown potatoes and increased pickles to one cup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
The flour/butter ratio for the roux is very off, as one reviewer mentioned. I trusted the recipe, even though I thought it was off and ended up having to fish chunks of flour out. I thickened it with a cornstarch slurry, so it turned out fine, but just make sure you have enough butter to make your flour smooth before adding the broth. The soup is very unique. I like it but would add more pickles and less curry for my own preferences. I don't think it is spicy unless you are sensitive to spicy foods, and though it is good I probably would not recommend for people you don't know, serve it to people when you know their tastes. If they are picky or don't have an adventurous palate they may not like it. Definitely probably not one for kids. If you're not sure, make a small batch for yourself, which is what I did. It's easy and good and if you like pickles/curry you will like it. Also, it is good both before and after adding the milk, so if you like a brothy soup you could probably omit the milk altogether (although that would reduce the portions!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina Strickland
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I am not overly keen on pickles in general but my daughter and husband love them. So I decided to give this recipe a try and I have to admit that I love it! I was pleased with how quick and easy it is to make and that I had all the Ingredients already on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Strickland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I liked it but the family didn't so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States