Dill Pickle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Delicious and very warming on a cold spring day that feels like winter! I made half a recipe but kept the amounts of pickles and juice as for a whole recipe. I liked the pickle flavor this way, and I think it would have been a little bland if I lowered those amounts, too. Per other reviewers suggestions, I added three small chopped, cooked potatoes at the end, and this was a very good call. I used onion powder and added my own salt. Had some half-n-half that needed to be used so I added that until I got the color and flavor I liked, leaving out about 1/4 cup. Thanks Heather K. for the different and tasty soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is one of the strangest soups I've ever tasted. I doubt I will ever make this recipe again as I'm not exactly looking forward to the leftovers. Both the dill and curry powder are very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
just a little too sweet. I would go without the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
It was too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Add hash brown potatoes and increased pickles to one cup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
The flour/butter ratio for the roux is very off, as one reviewer mentioned. I trusted the recipe, even though I thought it was off and ended up having to fish chunks of flour out. I thickened it with a cornstarch slurry, so it turned out fine, but just make sure you have enough butter to make your flour smooth before adding the broth. The soup is very unique. I like it but would add more pickles and less curry for my own preferences. I don't think it is spicy unless you are sensitive to spicy foods, and though it is good I probably would not recommend for people you don't know, serve it to people when you know their tastes. If they are picky or don't have an adventurous palate they may not like it. Definitely probably not one for kids. If you're not sure, make a small batch for yourself, which is what I did. It's easy and good and if you like pickles/curry you will like it. Also, it is good both before and after adding the milk, so if you like a brothy soup you could probably omit the milk altogether (although that would reduce the portions!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina Strickland
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I am not overly keen on pickles in general but my daughter and husband love them. So I decided to give this recipe a try and I have to admit that I love it! I was pleased with how quick and easy it is to make and that I had all the Ingredients already on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Strickland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I liked it but the family didn't so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I have used this site for years and this so far is my favorite recipe on the entire site. YUM! I like that soup is good served at any temperature. I can't make it too often because I will eat the entire batch alone. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Love this! Like everyone else, I was skeptical-- definitely give this a try! A few small changes made this a hit in my house: sautéed 1/2 chopped vidalia onion and the garlic in the butter. Raw garlic is not my thing. I needed about 5T of butter to be able to whisk the flour in, but I was also using a stockpot. Skipped the onion salt, and added about a 1t of kosher salt instead, a few dashes of cayenne, and a few grinds of black pepper. I also chopped up 2 medium red-skinned potatoes: added one with the spices & pickles, and simmered. Then used my stick blender to puree before adding the milk (I actually used 1/2 and 1/2 as that's all we had). Added the other chopped potato pieces and simmered until tender before stirring in the milk. The result was a creamy texture with perfectly balanced flavors. Will be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babycake1210

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States