Dill Pickle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Love this! Like everyone else, I was skeptical-- definitely give this a try! A few small changes made this a hit in my house: sautéed 1/2 chopped vidalia onion and the garlic in the butter. Raw garlic is not my thing. I needed about 5T of butter to be able to whisk the flour in, but I was also using a stockpot. Skipped the onion salt, and added about a 1t of kosher salt instead, a few dashes of cayenne, and a few grinds of black pepper. I also chopped up 2 medium red-skinned potatoes: added one with the spices & pickles, and simmered. Then used my stick blender to puree before adding the milk (I actually used 1/2 and 1/2 as that's all we had). Added the other chopped potato pieces and simmered until tender before stirring in the milk. The result was a creamy texture with perfectly balanced flavors. Will be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babycake1210

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
We made this pretty closely to the directions, but finely minced half a small onion and used about 1/2 tsp of salt instead of using the onion salt. We added one potato diced to about 1/2". I used some Claussen pickle and a small McClure spicy pickle. It added just a little zip. We will definitely make again and share with the rest of our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Yum. I also added more pickles and juice, a and diced potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Added diced red potatoes, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Well that was interesting and fun. I told my 17 year old granddaughter that I had a new soup for her to try. She loves my homemade soups I told her I made dill pickle soup and said "yuk". She tried it though and then had another bowl. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Delicious! Mind turned out restaurant quality. I didn't have onion salt so I used onion powder and I'm glad I did. I think it would have been far too salty. I added potatoes too because I had some leftover from dinner the night before. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I had 3 cartons, (12cups) of chicken broth so I nearly doubled the recipe. It was brothy. Not sure if it was suppose to be thicker. I added extra flour to while it was boiling. I took a bit of the broth and mixed it with the flour before dumping it in so it wouldn't clump. Still was brothy. But I tried it and loved it! I will make it for my friends when we go up north in the Michigan tundra. Live the kick to it because of the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
i love dill and I love curry so I thought i'd be in love with this soup. Unfortunately, I don't. in order for me to eat it, I have to crush up saltines in it. I made this recipe exactly as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I love dill pickles, so this was a "no-brainer" for me. However, even after doubling the pickles & juice, I wanted more of the dill flavor. I will make this again with 4x those 2 items, and maybe add a bit of sour cream to thicken it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I have make this soup several times over the years and it is always for time and time again. I have never changed anything, but after reading the reviews the hamburger and leeks would make for a nice addition once and awhile. And a note to SOUP LOVING NICOLE, you want the butter/flour to be crumbly so it can brown, not liquidy. I start all my gravies that way too. Anyway, thanks for an outstanding soup that is quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States