Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This has become my go-to (GLUTEN FREE!) meatloaf. I make it probably once a week. I usually find meatloaf to be pretty bland, but the pickle juice adds a really great flavor to the meat. After making it many times, I've settled on the following alterations: A whole onion is way too much for my taste. It seemed like half of each bite was onion pieces. I do maybe 1/4 cup diced onion. I started making it with gluten free bread after going gf and it tastes just as good. I just put a couple pieces gf bread in the blender to make crumbs as opposed to soaking them whole. Also, I double the sauce for the top. I eyeball the brown sugar amt, but maybe 1/3 cup brown sugar. It may sound like a lot, but I find that a lot of the sauce runs off with the rest of the juices, so having extra sauce compensates for that. The sweetness also really plays off the pickle flavor! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN-RENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This meatloaf is my husband's mew favorite. I've made it twice as the recipe indicated with only minor alterations: left out the salt (because there's enough in the pickle juice), added chopped up pickles to the loaf, used bread crumbs as the binder, and didn't add the sauce until the last 20 minutes of baking. Four other people shared dinner with us when this was on the table and everyone wanted the recipe, plus one more person who called because word-of-mouth said it was soooo good. I will, however, STRONGLY suggest you double or triple the sauce as it disappears very quickly since it's great on the meatloaf and the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Tried this recipe and loved it! Even my daughter who is not a meat lover went for seconds. The only thing I did different is put some hot sauce in the topping because I love hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I thought this meatloaf was tasty and easy to cook. AND.. I definitely could taste the dill pickles. I recommend this recipe and plan on baking it tomorrow for my daughter, who LOVES dill pickles and son-in-law. I hope they enjoy it as much as my (ex) boyfriend and I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This meatload is very tasty but way too salty! Adding pickle juice AND chopped pickles seems overkill. I think I will cut the pickle juice in half, and also use only 1/4 tsp salt. Also, I made this meatloaf in my microwave. It had too much liquid so I kept taking it out with a baster. After 16 minutes in my microwave (with carousel, so no need to turn...), and after removing lots of liquid with baster, I put it into my oven for ten minutes to brown/firm up the top. It really was very good, and I will definitely make it again. (Note: to the person who couldn't taste any pickle flavor, I used Claussen dill spears which produced a fresh, bright flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imdogoflanders
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
My mother found this recipe 40+ years ago in an old Farm Journal. I was, and still is, the only kind of meatloaf that I will eat. I have been making it for my husband for the past 24 years, and he has asked that I give it to many of his friends! Very flavorful and a change up from regular meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Yum! I love pickles so I thought this meatloaf was fantastic. Easy to make and a fun twist on the usual meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I would definitely double up the sauce next time. It was great. The meatloaf however, was just a meatloaf. The pickle juice it didn't offer any benefits to the recipe and honestly couldn't even tell it was there. Next time, I will use my own meatloaf recipe but add the chopped pickle sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Have made this a few times now and this is my go to recipe for meatloaf as Grumpy likes the dill pickle part and always was requesting I put it in his meatloaf. Great recipe...love it with beef or venison. I really love it in a sandwich the day after with a little mayo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Pretty good meatloaf. It is a too liquidy if you just use the amount of bread called for; I used dried breadcrumbs, and just dumped and mixed until I got a less liquid consistency. Hubs commented this tasted like hamburger and we discussed how some of the reviews stated that this meatloaf is reminiscent of a Big Mac. He agreed--but you'd probably need to put this on bread and add your toppings to get it to really taste like that. I doubled the sauce topping and used dill pickle juice instead of water to thin it. Turned out well. Ate with green beans and bread for a hearty lunch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States