Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
not sure what i did wrong on this one. we love meatloaf but this just didn't hit the spot with any of us. the meatloaf wasn't bad, it just wasn't special enough to add to the rotation in place of something else. and the topping didn't go over well at all (my son said "this is just like going to a fast food place where they nuke the burgers with the pickles and ketchup on them"). i try to not ever rate a recipe at 3 stars - i figure it is just personal taste if it turns out badly - but this one really didn't go over with anyone in the house. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Did not taste the pickles, which is good since I am the pickle lover and my husband is not. The mixture was too liquid-y to make a loaf, so I put it across the 8 x 8. which was fine, but did not resemble a loaf. I would cut the water out next time for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Giddings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Fantastic, different meatloaf! I omitted the salt and doubled the sauce, like many others. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Really great. If you like pickles you can't help but love this. Doubled the sauce and put it on half way through as others suggested. YUMMERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
tried this recipe on a whim, was not disapointed. we used 93/7 ground beef, and made extra topping. go easy on the salt because of the saltiness of the pickles. my wife and i loved it and will definately make it again. great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This was a hit in my family of hubby and 3 teenage boys....I don't like meatloaf but love this web-site as I always feel in a rut when I try and prepare meals...one comment I got was that this reminded 2 of my boys of McDonalds Cheeseburgers....that in itself made it a HUGE hit...thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dannell Hartung

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I made this wonderful Meatloaf and loved it. I made a mistake,did not read all the directions. I took the sauce that was supposed to go on top of the Meatloaf and mixed it with the meat. OMG was that good. I put bacon on top of the meat before I baked it.Thank you so much for this wonderfull Recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. Easy to prepare - not too long to wait. Not the best meat loaf I've ever had, but certainly tasty and quite unique with the Dill Pickle taste thrown in. I like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I double checked the ingredients and directions to be sure I didn't misread any of it. The idea of using dill pickles sounded interesting, and I was impressed that there were so many good reviews, so I thought I'd give it a try. I followed this recipe exactly as it appears. I am not at all happy with the results. At the end of the cooking time, the mealoaf was done, but was literally floating in a sea of pickle juice. The texture was tough and crumbly, and the flavor was was way too "pickley". I will not use this recipe again. For those who are considering it, I would recommend that you cut the pickle juice down to 1 or 2 ounces. The topping which has chopped pickles in it, will give the pickle flavor well enough. As for me, I much prefer the onion/bell pepper version of great southern style meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
It's my first meatloaf ever and I liked it because it was moist and had a taste of pickles, which I love. Next time though I'll replace ketchup with something less sweet and I wont put any brown sugar (the topping was too sweet for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States