Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I can dill pickles almost every year and thought I'd give this one a try. It is possibly the tastiest meatloaf I've ever made! I reduced the salt to 1/4 tsp.(plenty of salt in the pickle juice) and made an addition of 1/2 tsp. liquid smoke to the sauce recipie. Absloutely a delightful Meat loaf !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I think this is great! I don't like to substitute in recipes the first time I make something but in this case I had to make a few changes. I only had ground turkey and I used bread crumbs instead of bread. One thing I would recommend is doubling the sauce!!! It's excellent. Also, dont' be tempted to use relish instead of the pickles to me it's just not the same! I also think next time I'll bake this without the sauce on top first so I can get the nice crust then for the last 10 min or so add the glaze. I also forgot to add the salt (ooops just skipped it by accident) but I really don't think it needs the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEALCALF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
My first meatloaf ever-- so easy and tasty. My husband kept saying how delicious this was. I didn't have Worcestershire (SP?) sauce, so I instead added a bit of onion soup powder to the meat and the sauce on top to flavor. I didn't add any extra salt because I was using very salty (Israeli) pickles. I cooked this in a long loaf pan, and I knew it was done when the meatloaf pulled away from the ends of the pan. (I'm not sure if it's supposed to do that, but the meatloaf itself tasted perfect!) I'll definitely be making this again!! I was so impressed by the flavor... I would never have known the meatloaf had pickles in it, but it definitely has a little "zing." Also, I like the fact that there is no added cheese or oil, so this is at least marginally healthy! I served with mashed potatoes and sauteed green beans with garlic... a delicious and easy all-American dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was a really unique meatloaf! I, too, doubled the sauce. I was out of Worchestershire sauce so I used soy sauce instead. My only complaint is that every few bites you get a mushy bite from the bread. But that could be remedied by using bread crumbs or crushed crackers instead. Thanks so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Used this recipe for a meatloaf cook-off that I organized for my Boss's birthday (his favorite food). I doubled the recipe easily and the only change I made is I used 1/4 cup of crushed salinities in substitution of the slice of bread. Next time I am going to try making the topping with dill pickle relish to see how it turns out. Will make again and it got great reviews. Many skeptics of the name became believers after tasting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is very, very good! I didn't change a thing! I HIGHLY recommend making this recipe. This will be the only way I make meatloaf from now on! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Uh.....gosh. I was really excited about this meatloaf. Followed this exact, only adding garlic powder to the meatloaf and a little dijon to the topping ingredients. This meatloaf was REALLY wet. Like, I had a hard time getting it out of the pan and it just fell apart into bits. When I scooped it out, it wasn't......visually appealing. My husband ate over half and my son thought it was really great, it just wasn't a hit with me or my littlest. I really was pulling for this recipe. I'd like to play with it a bit and see if I can't get it a little more solid. Maybe make it a base for a Cheeseburger Meatloaf? I'm sorry. I really tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I have never had or made meatloaf before but have a freezer full of ground beef as my husbands family has a cattle farm so I needed new ideas to use it. This looked interesting so I tried it! I have fresh garden onions so I used the onion and onion greens and doubled the sauce like others mentioned. The idea of meatloaf never appealed to me but I really liked this one. I LOVE dill pickles as does my husband so when I mentioned this recipe he asked me to make it right away. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is a good meatloaf but we couldn't taste any pickle flavor.. and I doubled the amount (from 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup). I would've thought that the pickles were weak or something but they tasted pickly enough straight out of the jar. No complaint about anything else.... Will keep around as a basic meatloaf recipe to add ingredients to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Excellent! I substituted a half package of onion soup mix and didn't use the chopped onion or salt. Great flavor. The pickles gave a fresh kick to an old favorite. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States