Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
What a pleasant surprise! I will fix this again. If you did not know you had pickles in this, I don't think you guess the "mystery" ingredient. Loved the sweet/tart flavor of the sauce. Xtra sauce is a good idea if you like gooey food like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Sorry, a neat idea but not to my liking. Will not make again, but might try something similar for hamburger patties for the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
After this recipes glowing reviews, I knew that I had to try it. I was very disappointed. No one in my family enjoyed it. I agree with another reviewer that it was too wet. I thought that the dill pickles would add an interesting flavor, but it was the only flavor I could taste. It definitely needed some sort of seasoning. My husband requested that I never make it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I made this recipie as stated with the exception of using 1/4 cup of garlic and herb seasoned bread crumbs in place of the sliced bread. I am a pickle freak and my girlfriend & I both loved it, very moist with lots of flavor yet it held together well........thats about all I can ask from a meatloaf! Rather than chopping the pickles for the sauce I ran them over a cheese grater (I do this for other sauces as well - tarter, etc.). I also doubled the batch and made 2 seperate pans of this, the first one I left "as is" and the second one I added 1/4 tsp. of liquid smoke to the sauce just to compare the difference. Both versions tasted great but I think that my personal preferance is to leave the liquid smoke out next time. Those of you trying to cook with less salt feel free to cut it in half or even use less than that, I don't think you will miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I wasn't so sure my family would like this, but I knew that I would. My family liked it quite a bit, and I totally looove this. It is super yummy. I doubled the sauce recipe for on top and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I've never met a meatloaf that I really cared for all that much...until now. I tried this recipe because my husband is a dill pickle nut, and we had a jar full of pickle juice in the fridge. Made this exactly to recipe (kinda unusual for me, to not even add garlic to something like this) and it was awesome. We had it with some dilled potatoes on the side and are SO looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. This is going on the repeat list for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Wow, this was good! This was my first attempt ever at meatloaf. B'friend claimed it was better than his mother's which is really saying something! Guests also gave it thumbs up, alas no left overs for lunch the next day. I doubled the sauce based on prior reviews, a must since I baked this in an 8x8 pan. No way would the "correct" amount have covered the meat. This was nice and moist and did not fall apart. It took about 45 minutes to cook, probably because it was not in a loaf pan, so keep an eye on it. I think next time I will make patties and serve it on a bun with cheese and lettuce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I wasn't crazy about this but my husband loved it. I added some chopped pickles to the meat mix based on other reviews but would leave them out next time. The sauce has plenty of pickle crunch. The leftovers made great sandwiches the next day. So good, I would consider making just for that purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Yum! Delicious! Definitely going to be put into my real recipe box! I did make a few changes bc I'm a broke college student, I didn't have Worcestershire sauce so I used A1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dilai12

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This recipe came to me as an email recipe of the day a while back. I love meatloaf and I LOVE dill pickles, but it sounded odd even to me. I had to try it. I have honestly made it about 5 or 6 times in the past 6 months and I absolutely LOVE it. I am a bit obsessive with watching my weight, so I use ground chicken instead of beef and I sub the egg for just egg white. I also prefer using a light sweet bbq sauce instead of the ketchup mixture and breadcrumbs instead of a slice of bread, but that's just my taste. Honestly, this is one of the best recipes I've tried from this site. Thanks so much for the contribution!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States