Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Without even looking at the other reviews, my fiance also exclaimed "It tastes like a McDonald's hamburger!" I made two substitutions (a half cup of bread crumbs instead of bread and onion powder instead of onion) and added some garlic powder. I liked that this was made in an 8x8 pan because it cooked in 45 minutes! I put the glaze on halfway through the cooking time. Thanks for a great meatloaf recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
It tasted as I imagined. A quick and easy good meatloaf. I did double the sauce and it was perfect. I also used 1/2 cup of panko instead of bread because I didn't have any. After I finished eating, I realized I forgot to put onions. I love onion in any dish but I didn't miss it (but I won't forget next time). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
a good change will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry L Coburn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
What a pleasant surprise! I will fix this again. If you did not know you had pickles in this, I don't think you guess the "mystery" ingredient. Loved the sweet/tart flavor of the sauce. Xtra sauce is a good idea if you like gooey food like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Sorry, a neat idea but not to my liking. Will not make again, but might try something similar for hamburger patties for the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
After this recipes glowing reviews, I knew that I had to try it. I was very disappointed. No one in my family enjoyed it. I agree with another reviewer that it was too wet. I thought that the dill pickles would add an interesting flavor, but it was the only flavor I could taste. It definitely needed some sort of seasoning. My husband requested that I never make it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I made this recipie as stated with the exception of using 1/4 cup of garlic and herb seasoned bread crumbs in place of the sliced bread. I am a pickle freak and my girlfriend & I both loved it, very moist with lots of flavor yet it held together well........thats about all I can ask from a meatloaf! Rather than chopping the pickles for the sauce I ran them over a cheese grater (I do this for other sauces as well - tarter, etc.). I also doubled the batch and made 2 seperate pans of this, the first one I left "as is" and the second one I added 1/4 tsp. of liquid smoke to the sauce just to compare the difference. Both versions tasted great but I think that my personal preferance is to leave the liquid smoke out next time. Those of you trying to cook with less salt feel free to cut it in half or even use less than that, I don't think you will miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I wasn't so sure my family would like this, but I knew that I would. My family liked it quite a bit, and I totally looove this. It is super yummy. I doubled the sauce recipe for on top and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I've never met a meatloaf that I really cared for all that much...until now. I tried this recipe because my husband is a dill pickle nut, and we had a jar full of pickle juice in the fridge. Made this exactly to recipe (kinda unusual for me, to not even add garlic to something like this) and it was awesome. We had it with some dilled potatoes on the side and are SO looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. This is going on the repeat list for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Wow, this was good! This was my first attempt ever at meatloaf. B'friend claimed it was better than his mother's which is really saying something! Guests also gave it thumbs up, alas no left overs for lunch the next day. I doubled the sauce based on prior reviews, a must since I baked this in an 8x8 pan. No way would the "correct" amount have covered the meat. This was nice and moist and did not fall apart. It took about 45 minutes to cook, probably because it was not in a loaf pan, so keep an eye on it. I think next time I will make patties and serve it on a bun with cheese and lettuce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States