Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I thought this was good but it was mooshy, didn't stand up to being sliced and my kids refused to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I liked this a lot, so I'm giving it 4 stars, but husband didn't. He asked what was in the topping, with a look and a tone in his voice that could have meant "what's in this topping? Snot?" But I thought the chopped pickles & pickle juice gave the loaf a very interesting flavor. My only change was to use panko instead of fresh bread, and I think that was a good thing; it would have been WAAAY too wet with just fresh bread to soak up the liquid. Guess who's having a meatloaf sandwich for dinner tonight? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this! I made a few changes: ground turkey, dry breadcrumbs (to taste), and omitted the salt (all of it). I also made my meatloaf on a roasting rack, the kind with a drain pan beneath so the fat could drain off. This mixture is very loose, and the finished product is too, but so tasty that I don't mind it being difficult to slice! I served this fantastic meatloaf with home fries and cucumbers in vinegar. I will absolutely make this regularly, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I don't really like meat loaf but this was great. Kids and hubby also liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I think you could double the sauce and it would be great. This was a pretty good recipe. A bit tangy, but still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I decided to make this because my picky girls don't really care for meatloaf, but LOVE dill pickles. My 4 year old DEVOURED it! (My 2 year old, well, she decides based on looking at something whether she'll eat it, so I won't fault the recipe) :) I'm not a big fan of dill pickles, but I thought it was excellent! Very moist, will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was really good. I doubled the sauce and would probably triple it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Awesome! A great twist on plain old meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Weirdly, I found this a little dry. I did use bread crumbs, so maybe I just used too little. The flavor was good though and I liked the pickles. Will likely add more pickle juice, higher fat ground beef (originally used 93%) and maybe a little less bread. Definitely worth a second shot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was really neat! The flavor and crunch of the pickles works so well. I took the advice of others and made sure to blend my bread into crumbs so there were no big pieces of bread. I also doubled the sauce, and it was worth it. Thanks for the great new and different meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latty72
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States