Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
a bit bland but yaed left over meatloaf the next day layered on a bed of lime tortilla chips warmed the meat for a minute took it out and added sharp cheddar cheese put back in microwave till cheese then added sour cream yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Very good. The flavor reminded me a little of Iowa Maid-Rites! I followed recipe exactly and used Claussen dill pickles. I generally use crackers when I make meatloaf but I really didn't notice any difference with the slice of bread. I also bake my loaf without topping and add it during the last 15 minutes. This allows a crust to form on the top of the meatloaf. I prefer that method to this one. And like others, I will double the sauce next time and omit the water. The sauce is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! I made it as directed with the following substitutions: bread crumbs for bread (it's what I have) and adding a drop or two (maybe 1/8 tsp at most) of liquid smoke to the sauce (a recommendation in the reviews). When I served it, I was in heaven. My family agrees that this meatloaf tastes remarkably like a McDonald's hamburger....but elevated to a wonderful level. It may sound weird to you. But we live 525 miles by plane from the nearest McDonald's. I grew up with McDonald's, and sometimes I get a hankering' for a simple Mickey-D's hamburger with extra pickles. I now will be making this recipe, slicing it up, and putting on a nice burger bun...and maybe add cheese (ssshhhhhhh). I'm SO excited. Thanks CaraMed for saving me the cost of a plane ticket to quench my occasional hamburger thirst. :) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
My whole family loves this meatloaf! I'm not a fan of meatloaf, but this is really good!!!! Thank you, CaraMeg!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xcarminaburanax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I liked this. My husband and daughter apparently do not like pickles (why didn't I know this) so I guess I won't be making again. :-( I did double the sauce and toasted the bread before crumbling it up, which I would do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
We really loved this meatloaf, I used 93 lean beef and left out the brown sugar and bread for health reasons, so I added some mustard instead....It tastes so much like a Mc Donalds quarter pounder! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Wilson Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crab Orchard, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
tastes like a McDonald's hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
It was ok - but I will not be making again as we really did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good! When I was forming the meatloaf in the pan, it was very wet...so, I added another piece of bread torn into smal pieces and it came out great! i didn't have any Worcestershire sauce, so I omitted that..however, i'm sure it would make it taste even better! I loved this! I will make meatloaf this way from now on, Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Waterford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I hope you don't mind if I review this recipe since I made it word for word as written. I know, it seems I'm supposed make substitutions or leave things out or add things to the recipe, but I did note a rare couple of folks below that made it as written, so I thought I might, too. This meatloaf does have an interesting and new twist to it. Like most meatloafs (meatloaves?) it is easy enough to assemble. CaraMeg does not mention that the mixture is very wet and requires some finesse to get it shaped and into the pan. The pickle juice in the mixture adds just a tounch of flavor to the loaf, but I think it needs just a little something more to tie it in with the creative and very good sauce. Maybe a tablespoon of tomato paste and another quarter cup of diced pickles would do it. The finished loaf turned out quite nice looking and firm enough to plate without falling apart. A good recipe, CaraMeg - Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States