Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I would definitely double up the sauce next time. It was great. The meatloaf however, was just a meatloaf. The pickle juice it didn't offer any benefits to the recipe and honestly couldn't even tell it was there. Next time, I will use my own meatloaf recipe but add the chopped pickle sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Have made this a few times now and this is my go to recipe for meatloaf as Grumpy likes the dill pickle part and always was requesting I put it in his meatloaf. Great recipe...love it with beef or venison. I really love it in a sandwich the day after with a little mayo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Pretty good meatloaf. It is a too liquidy if you just use the amount of bread called for; I used dried breadcrumbs, and just dumped and mixed until I got a less liquid consistency. Hubs commented this tasted like hamburger and we discussed how some of the reviews stated that this meatloaf is reminiscent of a Big Mac. He agreed--but you'd probably need to put this on bread and add your toppings to get it to really taste like that. I doubled the sauce topping and used dill pickle juice instead of water to thin it. Turned out well. Ate with green beans and bread for a hearty lunch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
When I saw this recipe I was a bit sceptical but I have made this twice now and it is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gronert Pitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
A very different and unique meatloaf. I like the crunchiness the pickles give and the slight tanginess that the pickles impart. Delicious! Definitely a dish worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Thought this was tasty. I added 1/3 cup chopped pickle to the glaze instead of the 1/4 cup, because I like pickle so much. Thought it was a bit on the wet side too. I drained any liquid off half way through. Thanks for sharing. Will put in my meatloaf recipes to make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This is by far one of my favorite dishes to make. My husband loves it so much that he has me make a 4lb batch every time we fix it. I usually wait until 10 minutes left to add the topping and I always swap the measurements for the black pepper and salt. We like a little more spice. Also I use oats instead of bread to be a little more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Yummy. Between the beef, ketchup, and pickles, this tastes like it's on the way to being a delicious hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I see what reviewers mean when they say that it is like a Big Mac. Don't get your hopes up too much because it had the hint of a McD's burger, but still wasn't exact. The pickle juice and large amount of onions in the meat PLUS the addition of the ketchup sauce mixture all help to make it taste similar to the restaurant style burger, so if that's what you want, don't eliminate these ingredients. Honestly, I don't know why other reviewers thought it was too bland because I thought it was nicely flavored...and this is coming from someone who loves everything overly flavorful. I was slightly worried that the pickle flavor would be too strong, but it wasn't at all. For those of you who complained that it was too soupy, I sprinkled in a bit of store bought bread crumbs to thicken it up, and I think it worked out fine. Also, I doubled the recipe, making it extra thick in my dish, so I ended up increasing the cooking time by 20minutes. Overall, it's a great recipe, and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
No changes or additional ingredients added and I loved it. This is now my new favorite meatloaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States