Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Great recipe. When it was cooked there was an very large amount of liquid that I had to pour out. It was not firm enough before baking, so I'd like to use bread crumbs next time and use an appropriate amount for firmness. But it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This was pretty good. I would make sure to get your pickles diced up nice and small for the glaze. I also would consider using 1.5 pounds of beef and adjusting seasonings accordingly, except for the pickle juice. The juice was tasty in there, but it also made for a sloppy, loose meatloaf. I think you could safely add the extra meat without losing the pickle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Wow, I am totally surprised by this! I am not a meatloaf fan at all, but I ate this and then had seconds which never happens! My kids and husband loved it. I have to say thanks to Ellie who recommended it to me! I usually find meatloaf either too dry or too moist, but this was perfect, and we loved the glaze. The only addition I made was I added a little shredded cheddar and crumpled bacon to center and rolled it up. We loved the pickle flavor, thanks for this recipe, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Taste like White Castle burgers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
My kids all time favorite for the last two years! I will usually double the pickle mixture that is poured on top..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I had high hopes for this recipe, because I love dill pickles. However, this wasn't as good as a Bacon Cheeseburger Meatloaf recipe that I have/make. That one makes the best meatloaf I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chenango Bridge, New York, USA
Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This had great flavor! No extra condiments needed. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This has become my go-to (GLUTEN FREE!) meatloaf. I make it probably once a week. I usually find meatloaf to be pretty bland, but the pickle juice adds a really great flavor to the meat. After making it many times, I've settled on the following alterations: A whole onion is way too much for my taste. It seemed like half of each bite was onion pieces. I do maybe 1/4 cup diced onion. I started making it with gluten free bread after going gf and it tastes just as good. I just put a couple pieces gf bread in the blender to make crumbs as opposed to soaking them whole. Also, I double the sauce for the top. I eyeball the brown sugar amt, but maybe 1/3 cup brown sugar. It may sound like a lot, but I find that a lot of the sauce runs off with the rest of the juices, so having extra sauce compensates for that. The sweetness also really plays off the pickle flavor! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN-RENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This meatloaf is my husband's mew favorite. I've made it twice as the recipe indicated with only minor alterations: left out the salt (because there's enough in the pickle juice), added chopped up pickles to the loaf, used bread crumbs as the binder, and didn't add the sauce until the last 20 minutes of baking. Four other people shared dinner with us when this was on the table and everyone wanted the recipe, plus one more person who called because word-of-mouth said it was soooo good. I will, however, STRONGLY suggest you double or triple the sauce as it disappears very quickly since it's great on the meatloaf and the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Tried this recipe and loved it! Even my daughter who is not a meat lover went for seconds. The only thing I did different is put some hot sauce in the topping because I love hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States