Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Good and different from the typical meatloaf. In order for this to be good, you need to use good pickle juice. If you didn't like your pickles, you won't like the loaf. Great to have yet another use for pickle juice! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
My first meatloaf ever-- so easy and tasty. My husband kept saying how delicious this was. I didn't have Worcestershire (SP?) sauce, so I instead added a bit of onion soup powder to the meat and the sauce on top to flavor. I didn't add any extra salt because I was using very salty (Israeli) pickles. I cooked this in a long loaf pan, and I knew it was done when the meatloaf pulled away from the ends of the pan. (I'm not sure if it's supposed to do that, but the meatloaf itself tasted perfect!) I'll definitely be making this again!! I was so impressed by the flavor... I would never have known the meatloaf had pickles in it, but it definitely has a little "zing." Also, I like the fact that there is no added cheese or oil, so this is at least marginally healthy! I served with mashed potatoes and sauteed green beans with garlic... a delicious and easy all-American dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is very, very good! I didn't change a thing! I HIGHLY recommend making this recipe. This will be the only way I make meatloaf from now on! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I think this is great! I don't like to substitute in recipes the first time I make something but in this case I had to make a few changes. I only had ground turkey and I used bread crumbs instead of bread. One thing I would recommend is doubling the sauce!!! It's excellent. Also, dont' be tempted to use relish instead of the pickles to me it's just not the same! I also think next time I'll bake this without the sauce on top first so I can get the nice crust then for the last 10 min or so add the glaze. I also forgot to add the salt (ooops just skipped it by accident) but I really don't think it needs the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEALCALF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This recipe was awsome. It was a nice new twist on an old favorite. My boyfriend, who is a meatloaf addict, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I can dill pickles almost every year and thought I'd give this one a try. It is possibly the tastiest meatloaf I've ever made! I reduced the salt to 1/4 tsp.(plenty of salt in the pickle juice) and made an addition of 1/2 tsp. liquid smoke to the sauce recipie. Absloutely a delightful Meat loaf !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I was a little hesitant about trying this one, but all the 5 star reviews convinced me. It was truly excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grant L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
What a great recipe! The only complaint I heard was from my husband who said I didn't make enough of it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I love pickles, therefore I loved this recipe. If you're a big fan of pickles you will like this. Beats the heck out of your traditional meatloaf. This will be a monthly dinner. Thanks 4 sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Best meatloaf ever! The pickle juice kept it so very moist and tender. I made it exactly as the recipe called for but next time I will double the topping sauce and will also add pickles to the meatloaf itself. My hubby really chowed it down and raved over it. This is definitely a keeper!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leechburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States