Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I made this recipie as stated with the exception of using 1/4 cup of garlic and herb seasoned bread crumbs in place of the sliced bread. I am a pickle freak and my girlfriend & I both loved it, very moist with lots of flavor yet it held together well........thats about all I can ask from a meatloaf! Rather than chopping the pickles for the sauce I ran them over a cheese grater (I do this for other sauces as well - tarter, etc.). I also doubled the batch and made 2 seperate pans of this, the first one I left "as is" and the second one I added 1/4 tsp. of liquid smoke to the sauce just to compare the difference. Both versions tasted great but I think that my personal preferance is to leave the liquid smoke out next time. Those of you trying to cook with less salt feel free to cut it in half or even use less than that, I don't think you will miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I wasn't so sure my family would like this, but I knew that I would. My family liked it quite a bit, and I totally looove this. It is super yummy. I doubled the sauce recipe for on top and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I've never met a meatloaf that I really cared for all that much...until now. I tried this recipe because my husband is a dill pickle nut, and we had a jar full of pickle juice in the fridge. Made this exactly to recipe (kinda unusual for me, to not even add garlic to something like this) and it was awesome. We had it with some dilled potatoes on the side and are SO looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. This is going on the repeat list for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Wow, this was good! This was my first attempt ever at meatloaf. B'friend claimed it was better than his mother's which is really saying something! Guests also gave it thumbs up, alas no left overs for lunch the next day. I doubled the sauce based on prior reviews, a must since I baked this in an 8x8 pan. No way would the "correct" amount have covered the meat. This was nice and moist and did not fall apart. It took about 45 minutes to cook, probably because it was not in a loaf pan, so keep an eye on it. I think next time I will make patties and serve it on a bun with cheese and lettuce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I wasn't crazy about this but my husband loved it. I added some chopped pickles to the meat mix based on other reviews but would leave them out next time. The sauce has plenty of pickle crunch. The leftovers made great sandwiches the next day. So good, I would consider making just for that purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Yum! Delicious! Definitely going to be put into my real recipe box! I did make a few changes bc I'm a broke college student, I didn't have Worcestershire sauce so I used A1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dilai12

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This recipe came to me as an email recipe of the day a while back. I love meatloaf and I LOVE dill pickles, but it sounded odd even to me. I had to try it. I have honestly made it about 5 or 6 times in the past 6 months and I absolutely LOVE it. I am a bit obsessive with watching my weight, so I use ground chicken instead of beef and I sub the egg for just egg white. I also prefer using a light sweet bbq sauce instead of the ketchup mixture and breadcrumbs instead of a slice of bread, but that's just my taste. Honestly, this is one of the best recipes I've tried from this site. Thanks so much for the contribution!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was a nice change of flavors. I used a bit too much dill this time but I am looking forward to trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Really good flavor, and the husband's reaction was favorable. My only concern is tweaking the sauce. It just seemed a bit raw to me. Maybe I should have minced the dill pickles. I'll definitely be making it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Absolutely delicious! My kids love pickles and this meatloaf is their favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States