Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I liked this a lot, so I'm giving it 4 stars, but husband didn't. He asked what was in the topping, with a look and a tone in his voice that could have meant "what's in this topping? Snot?" But I thought the chopped pickles & pickle juice gave the loaf a very interesting flavor. My only change was to use panko instead of fresh bread, and I think that was a good thing; it would have been WAAAY too wet with just fresh bread to soak up the liquid. Guess who's having a meatloaf sandwich for dinner tonight? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this! I made a few changes: ground turkey, dry breadcrumbs (to taste), and omitted the salt (all of it). I also made my meatloaf on a roasting rack, the kind with a drain pan beneath so the fat could drain off. This mixture is very loose, and the finished product is too, but so tasty that I don't mind it being difficult to slice! I served this fantastic meatloaf with home fries and cucumbers in vinegar. I will absolutely make this regularly, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I don't really like meat loaf but this was great. Kids and hubby also liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I think you could double the sauce and it would be great. This was a pretty good recipe. A bit tangy, but still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I decided to make this because my picky girls don't really care for meatloaf, but LOVE dill pickles. My 4 year old DEVOURED it! (My 2 year old, well, she decides based on looking at something whether she'll eat it, so I won't fault the recipe) :) I'm not a big fan of dill pickles, but I thought it was excellent! Very moist, will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was really good. I doubled the sauce and would probably triple it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Awesome! A great twist on plain old meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Weirdly, I found this a little dry. I did use bread crumbs, so maybe I just used too little. The flavor was good though and I liked the pickles. Will likely add more pickle juice, higher fat ground beef (originally used 93%) and maybe a little less bread. Definitely worth a second shot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was really neat! The flavor and crunch of the pickles works so well. I took the advice of others and made sure to blend my bread into crumbs so there were no big pieces of bread. I also doubled the sauce, and it was worth it. Thanks for the great new and different meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latty72
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Hubs is meatloaf-resistant after a couple decades of military mystery-meatloaf; so any meatloaf recipe that can pass muster for him is a keeper. I made it as written, and he had seconds. Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PointerSister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States