Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
When I saw this recipe I was a bit sceptical but I have made this twice now and it is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gronert Pitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
A very different and unique meatloaf. I like the crunchiness the pickles give and the slight tanginess that the pickles impart. Delicious! Definitely a dish worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Thought this was tasty. I added 1/3 cup chopped pickle to the glaze instead of the 1/4 cup, because I like pickle so much. Thought it was a bit on the wet side too. I drained any liquid off half way through. Thanks for sharing. Will put in my meatloaf recipes to make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This is by far one of my favorite dishes to make. My husband loves it so much that he has me make a 4lb batch every time we fix it. I usually wait until 10 minutes left to add the topping and I always swap the measurements for the black pepper and salt. We like a little more spice. Also I use oats instead of bread to be a little more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Yummy. Between the beef, ketchup, and pickles, this tastes like it's on the way to being a delicious hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I see what reviewers mean when they say that it is like a Big Mac. Don't get your hopes up too much because it had the hint of a McD's burger, but still wasn't exact. The pickle juice and large amount of onions in the meat PLUS the addition of the ketchup sauce mixture all help to make it taste similar to the restaurant style burger, so if that's what you want, don't eliminate these ingredients. Honestly, I don't know why other reviewers thought it was too bland because I thought it was nicely flavored...and this is coming from someone who loves everything overly flavorful. I was slightly worried that the pickle flavor would be too strong, but it wasn't at all. For those of you who complained that it was too soupy, I sprinkled in a bit of store bought bread crumbs to thicken it up, and I think it worked out fine. Also, I doubled the recipe, making it extra thick in my dish, so I ended up increasing the cooking time by 20minutes. Overall, it's a great recipe, and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
No changes or additional ingredients added and I loved it. This is now my new favorite meatloaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
a bit bland but yaed left over meatloaf the next day layered on a bed of lime tortilla chips warmed the meat for a minute took it out and added sharp cheddar cheese put back in microwave till cheese then added sour cream yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Very good. The flavor reminded me a little of Iowa Maid-Rites! I followed recipe exactly and used Claussen dill pickles. I generally use crackers when I make meatloaf but I really didn't notice any difference with the slice of bread. I also bake my loaf without topping and add it during the last 15 minutes. This allows a crust to form on the top of the meatloaf. I prefer that method to this one. And like others, I will double the sauce next time and omit the water. The sauce is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! I made it as directed with the following substitutions: bread crumbs for bread (it's what I have) and adding a drop or two (maybe 1/8 tsp at most) of liquid smoke to the sauce (a recommendation in the reviews). When I served it, I was in heaven. My family agrees that this meatloaf tastes remarkably like a McDonald's hamburger....but elevated to a wonderful level. It may sound weird to you. But we live 525 miles by plane from the nearest McDonald's. I grew up with McDonald's, and sometimes I get a hankering' for a simple Mickey-D's hamburger with extra pickles. I now will be making this recipe, slicing it up, and putting on a nice burger bun...and maybe add cheese (ssshhhhhhh). I'm SO excited. Thanks CaraMed for saving me the cost of a plane ticket to quench my occasional hamburger thirst. :) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States