Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
We loved this! I doubled the sauce and used about 1/2 c of breadcrumbs in place of the bread. Also, rather than forming a loaf I just pressed it into the 8x8 pan. Because it was flatter, it cooked in about 45 mins. Thanks for sharing- this one will definitely go into our meatloaf rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
We almost finish everything. I take advices from other reviewers such as no salt, double the sauce which is poured 15 min before it is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
My family LOVES this recipe. I am now required to make a double batch every time, so we can have it again soon. Since my husband is gluten-intolerant, I like to use bread in this recipe that is made with Bob's Red Mill Gluten-free Whole Grain Bread mix. It's a dark bread, so it adds interesting depth of flavor to the recipe. After playing with meatloaf recipes for a couple of decades, I'm thrilled to have finally found "the one".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I have made this meatloaf four times now. This is comfort food to the max, my new favorite meatloaf. Thank-you CaraMeg. I will be enjoying this many more times to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I have tried ALOT of meatloaf recipes, they all basically taste the same. This was so quick and easy and definately the best flavored meatloaf I have ever had. I used a pound and a half of ground beef so I upped the pickle juice to 3/4 cup. Too much! the mixture was very wet. I just cooked the heck out of it (hour and a half) and drained the juice periodically. I also added some hickory seasoning I had on hand. I didn't think the recipe called for enough seasoning. After tasting it though I really don't think it needs anything extra. The flavor is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Marie
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
just average. slight pickle taste was OK, but otherwise not much different from most meat loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
The first time I made this it was hard not to eat the entire thing in one gulp - or so my husband said. I followed other's recommendations about not adding salt as the dill pickle juice is salty itself and I'm glad I did. Overall a big favorite at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
not sure what i did wrong on this one. we love meatloaf but this just didn't hit the spot with any of us. the meatloaf wasn't bad, it just wasn't special enough to add to the rotation in place of something else. and the topping didn't go over well at all (my son said "this is just like going to a fast food place where they nuke the burgers with the pickles and ketchup on them"). i try to not ever rate a recipe at 3 stars - i figure it is just personal taste if it turns out badly - but this one really didn't go over with anyone in the house. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Did not taste the pickles, which is good since I am the pickle lover and my husband is not. The mixture was too liquid-y to make a loaf, so I put it across the 8 x 8. which was fine, but did not resemble a loaf. I would cut the water out next time for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Giddings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Fantastic, different meatloaf! I omitted the salt and doubled the sauce, like many others. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States