Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is probably my very favorite meat loaf recipe. If you're in weight watchers, it's only 8 points!!! Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This really is a really good meatloaf. I have made it twice and double the batch the 1st time I made it and well....I made 4x the amount the 2nd time. Because I had a different purpose the 2nd time around. But rating this on the 1st go around. And it really was good. My hubby didn't like the overly amount of onions. He never does. But told me if I cut the onions down to 1/2 and added dill pickles to it, it would be the best "hamburger flavored" style meatloaf ever. I was only concerned about it being very moist, don't want to say liquidy but it was bordering that. But when it cooked up, that cooked out and it was delish. The topping was excellent. And I was really surprised my hubby liked it. My kids really enjoyed it. Now the 2nd go around, I did just what hubby asked. And I decided to make them into what I call "funkified burgers" I made 4 batches for that reason so that the family could have left overs. But I found on both attempts soaking the bread into the onion and pickle juice before combining all the ingredients together. And because the 1st time I made it didn't have regular sliced bread. I chunked in a whole wheat hot dog bun..I know it's redneck ghetto, but it worked for me. I also used low sugar ketchup and Ideal brand Brown Sugar replacer...and it worked rather nicely...Thanks so much CaraMeg for a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is my staple meatloaf recipe now! The family loves it! You have to be a pickle fan to like it and we are! Awesome- thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I make this with lean groun turkey and it is still delicious. The only addition I made (original recipe is terrific as posted), was to add some of the chopped pickles to the mix (this this happened to be a mistake while I was following the recipe but turned out terrific), and cayenne pepper to the mix and some dashes of habenero hot sauce to the topping mix for some great kick! Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was a very good meatloaf my kids and husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulligent, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Used this recipe for a meatloaf cook-off that I organized for my Boss's birthday (his favorite food). I doubled the recipe easily and the only change I made is I used 1/4 cup of crushed salinities in substitution of the slice of bread. Next time I am going to try making the topping with dill pickle relish to see how it turns out. Will make again and it got great reviews. Many skeptics of the name became believers after tasting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Came out delicious. I used a 9" diameter oven safe sauce pan (instead of an 8x8), and it baked perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very tasty- the pickle juice provides enough salt that you don't need to add any as indicated in the recipe. My husband loved it and he is a very picky eater. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
It's good but the pickle flavor is not very strong in my opinion. It needs something. It is very moist though and I would make it again once I figure out what else to add. I'd double the sauce recipe and maybe add some pickles to the loaf itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Loved it! Of course, my family and I are crazy for pickles. The sauce was tangy and delicious. Very moist. Great the next day as a meatloaf sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States