Dill Pickle Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
It turned out puffy, moist and delicious. I used the bread machine on 1 1/2 lbs medium crust and it was perfect with my changes which are Bread Machine Dill Pickle White Bread 1 ½ lb, med crust 1 c dill pickle juice 1 c chopped pickle 1 clove minced garlic 1 T soft butter 1/2 finely chopped onion 2 tsp dried dill weed 3 1/8 c bread flour + 3 T gluten 1 lump of sugar on top of flour in opposite corners 1 scant Tblsp Bread Machine yeast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I followed recipe, using dill pickle juice for the entire 1 cup of liquid and set my bread machine on "white bread, medium crust". It turned out FABULOUS. I will keep this as a favorite sandwich bread recipe. Imagining grilled swiss and corned beef on pickle bread with a schmear of stone ground mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I had no issue with rising like some other folks did, warm water and a bit of sugar and my yeast, which was by no means fresh, was foaming up in a few minutes, I think alot of people go too hot with water. You definitely need the pickle juice for the flavoring, more than the pickle chunks, those dried up for me, maybe I diced too small? It was funny, usually I'm more of a gooey center than crust person, but the crust on this bread was where the best pickle flavor was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Nash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was fabulous, fantastic, just wonderful. I had no problems putting this recipe together at all. I only doubted how much of 1 dill pickle it should be, because various pickles are various sizes. So I had chopped up a bunch of midget dills and it was roughly about 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup of chopped pickles. The flavor was nice, wasn't overpowering with either the dill weed or the pickle it's self. Was delightful and my son...requested it again. Of course he prefers freshly made breads and this made me happy. We enjoyed it the way it is and wouldn't change a thing. TY very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Although this did not rise like I expected, we liked this bread at our house. I used 3/4 cup of the pickle juice with 1/4 cup water. Omitted the dried minced onion. And used the "dough only" cycle on my bread machine. I set the oven temp to 170 degrees and covered my bread pan with a wet towel folded in half to keep the moisture in the bread. I checked on it every so often until it was about 3/4 the way up the side of the pan. I removed the towel, raised the oven temp to 350 and proceeded to bake the bread for approximately 30-35 minutes. I will definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie_LBGC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was delicious!! My brothers don't like pickles and they even liked this bread. We ate the whole loaf by itself in the first one or two days. I will definitely be making it again very soon! I did make a couple alterations... Instead of 1 cup of water I used 1/2 a cup of warm water and 1/2 cup of warm pickle juice. I also didn't add the onion since we're not big fans of it. Great recipe.. easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This bread was very nice. I was, as others have mentioned, a little disappointed in the lack of dill flavour, even though I used two pickles instead of one (my pickles were small). I also used one Kosher Dill & one Zesty Dill. All in all, a very yummy bread that I will try again. I just might take others' suggestions & try some pickle juice with it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ainsley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SEXYTRACKR
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I love this bread. I made a loaf and then use the bread for grilled cheese sandwiches. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEXYTRACKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I used all ingredients and added some wheat flour, gluten and 1/2 liquid used pickle juice. Used more dill weed and some dill seed. The dough was very sticky. Added more flour. Dough didn't raise much so had a gummy loaf. Flavoar was great. Will try again. Would be good using rye flour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I like this for ham sandwiches. I had only pickle slices, so I used a scant 1/2 cup of chopped pickle for the 1 pickle. I also used finely 1/4 cup chopped onion as I did not have dried onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States