Dill Pickle Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was fabulous, fantastic, just wonderful. I had no problems putting this recipe together at all. I only doubted how much of 1 dill pickle it should be, because various pickles are various sizes. So I had chopped up a bunch of midget dills and it was roughly about 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup of chopped pickles. The flavor was nice, wasn't overpowering with either the dill weed or the pickle it's self. Was delightful and my son...requested it again. Of course he prefers freshly made breads and this made me happy. We enjoyed it the way it is and wouldn't change a thing. TY very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Although this did not rise like I expected, we liked this bread at our house. I used 3/4 cup of the pickle juice with 1/4 cup water. Omitted the dried minced onion. And used the "dough only" cycle on my bread machine. I set the oven temp to 170 degrees and covered my bread pan with a wet towel folded in half to keep the moisture in the bread. I checked on it every so often until it was about 3/4 the way up the side of the pan. I removed the towel, raised the oven temp to 350 and proceeded to bake the bread for approximately 30-35 minutes. I will definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie_LBGC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was delicious!! My brothers don't like pickles and they even liked this bread. We ate the whole loaf by itself in the first one or two days. I will definitely be making it again very soon! I did make a couple alterations... Instead of 1 cup of water I used 1/2 a cup of warm water and 1/2 cup of warm pickle juice. I also didn't add the onion since we're not big fans of it. Great recipe.. easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This bread was very nice. I was, as others have mentioned, a little disappointed in the lack of dill flavour, even though I used two pickles instead of one (my pickles were small). I also used one Kosher Dill & one Zesty Dill. All in all, a very yummy bread that I will try again. I just might take others' suggestions & try some pickle juice with it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ainsley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SEXYTRACKR
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I love this bread. I made a loaf and then use the bread for grilled cheese sandwiches. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEXYTRACKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I used all ingredients and added some wheat flour, gluten and 1/2 liquid used pickle juice. Used more dill weed and some dill seed. The dough was very sticky. Added more flour. Dough didn't raise much so had a gummy loaf. Flavoar was great. Will try again. Would be good using rye flour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I like this for ham sandwiches. I had only pickle slices, so I used a scant 1/2 cup of chopped pickle for the 1 pickle. I also used finely 1/4 cup chopped onion as I did not have dried onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I have made this twice now and everyone just loves it. It comes out perfect, soft and light but with the great flavor of dill from the pickles. Thank you for this recipe, it's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This rose fine for me with a few adjustments. First of all for the amount of flour called for 2 1/4 tsp of yeast is the right amount which is 1 full package. I always use rapid rise yeast and heated the liquids to the temp specified on my brand package. I did use about 1 tsp of sugar as the yeast needs it. I also used 1/2 pickle juice and 1/2 water and I doubled the amount of dill weed. Also, I think it is important after you chop your pickle to make sure you get of excess juice I dabbed mine with a paper towel. This did not quite have the pow I wanted with the dill flavor, I am going to try it again with all pickle juice. Don't get me wrong with a few adjustments this is an awesome flavored bread but I want more dill flavor as I am a pickle fanatic!!! Thx for the yummy bread =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This bread was a pain in my backside. Honestly. I fully accept my first two attempts as my fault. First time, I killed the yeast with too hot pickle juice. Second time, dough wouldn't rise at all. I found out salt kills yeast and using the full liquid amount as pickle juice wasn't the brightest idea. Third time, I did half pickle juice and half water. I made this from beginning to end in my Kitchen Aid. I proofed the yeast with the warm pickle juice/water with a tsp. of sugar in my mixer bowl for ten minutes. Then, I added the melted butter and after, all the dry ingredients. I kneaded the bread with my dough hook for five minutes or so, then shaped it into a ball and set it to rise in a large greased bowl, covered with Saran Wrap, on my warm oven for an hour. It rose a little, not much. I then formed it into a loaf and set it to rise covered with Saran Wrap again for another half hour or so. After seeing that the loaf hadn't risen much, I let it set for another 45 minutes until I just couldn't wait anymore. I baked it for about a half hour. Now, it is a petite loaf, but the flavor is very nice. I would be willing to make this again but I'd like to see if I could get more of a pickle flavor without sacrificing the growability of the dough. I take full blame for the mistakes with first two, but not all for the third. I know me, I'll keep messing with it until I get it. Long story short, good recipe....just don't do what I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States