Dill Pickle Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
instead of using mayo and onion juice and bread i use cream cheese and add either a package of ranch dressing or festia ranch and spread that on tortilla shells along with a slice of ham on it with baby pickles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This recipe is so easy to make. I ended up rolling the bread with a rolling pin to make it flatter and then spread the cream cheese mixture. What wonderful fast and tasty appetizers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
To help keep the shape during refrigeration, I roll them up into wax paper and secure them by twisting the ends. Another variation is to make some with wheat bread, pimento-stuffed green olives, or black olives. You can also use Cheeze Whiz instead of the spread mentioned in this recipe to add a splash of color to your plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Instead of bread try ham, I know it's a little different than what the recipe calls for but it is delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I made this for a baby shower(pickles and ice cream) and it was a hit. Such an unusual recipe but it presents very well. I rolled the white bread with a rolling pin before proceeding to the next step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I mashed my bread down quite a bit. It cracks if you don't & it stays togther much better, once rolled, if you do. I added fresh minced garlic as well as several twists of pepper. Also, be sure the seam side is down when you slice it...if not the bread sticks a bit to the knife & it tries to unroll. I was taking this to a b-day party at a park on a very hot day so I popped them in the freezer an hour before I left. It worked perfectly to keep them cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Yum yum YUM, I'm making these again for thanksgiving! My aunt found me onion juice in a bottle which I thought was neat as I squeezed the onion by hand the first time I made these. The onion juice will make it a cinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhmyDLM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
It has been a while since I made this, but they are great. If you have pickle lovers around they will quickly disappear. You can also use dill spears and tortillas instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
After reading the reviews I thought I would try this for an appetizer table last night. They just sat on the table all night long. Anyone that did try them had a perplexed look on their face like "what is in here?" They weren't horrible, but they just didn't tempt the guests at all. My daughter did like them though. Don't think I would try this one again. Thanks for the recipe though. I like to try new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I really liked them but they were not a party hit. I have made these wrapped with bread like this or wrapped with ham or turkey slices if you are going low carb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States