Dill Pickle Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This recipe is so easy to make. I ended up rolling the bread with a rolling pin to make it flatter and then spread the cream cheese mixture. What wonderful fast and tasty appetizers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I made this for a baby shower(pickles and ice cream) and it was a hit. Such an unusual recipe but it presents very well. I rolled the white bread with a rolling pin before proceeding to the next step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
To help keep the shape during refrigeration, I roll them up into wax paper and secure them by twisting the ends. Another variation is to make some with wheat bread, pimento-stuffed green olives, or black olives. You can also use Cheeze Whiz instead of the spread mentioned in this recipe to add a splash of color to your plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
These were super easy and everyone, even those who claim not to like dill pickles, devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENSOLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I made these for work and for a 4th of July party. Everyone loved them and gobbled them up. Easy and delicious. Something about the soft bread and the crunchy pickle appears to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Erfle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
My husband absolutely loved these. But no-one else seem overly impressed. He even spread the left over cream cheese mixture on his sandwiches. And he's already asked me to make them again for New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I mashed my bread down quite a bit. It cracks if you don't & it stays togther much better, once rolled, if you do. I added fresh minced garlic as well as several twists of pepper. Also, be sure the seam side is down when you slice it...if not the bread sticks a bit to the knife & it tries to unroll. I was taking this to a b-day party at a park on a very hot day so I popped them in the freezer an hour before I left. It worked perfectly to keep them cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
My hubby hated them, my son loved them, my brother in law gobbled them up and I thought they were OK. I flattened the bread out some by rolling a glass on it, I used onion and chive flavored spreadable cream cheese and i cut regular size dill pickles lengthwise. I skewered them with toothpicks to hold them together and put an olive on every other one for appearance and served them whole instead of cutting them into 1 inch pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
After reading the reviews I thought I would try this for an appetizer table last night. They just sat on the table all night long. Anyone that did try them had a perplexed look on their face like "what is in here?" They weren't horrible, but they just didn't tempt the guests at all. My daughter did like them though. Don't think I would try this one again. Thanks for the recipe though. I like to try new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Instead of bread try ham, I know it's a little different than what the recipe calls for but it is delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States