Dill Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Absolutely the biggest hit at our Labor Day family get together! I increased the amounts by about 50% or so using 1/2 reg. and 1/2 plum tomatoes plus 1 red bell pepper in addition to the green one and 2 jalapenos (1 seeded, the other not). Since half was going to be blended anyway I fine chopped 1/2 and the other was course chopped for the blender,saving prep time. Speaking of which, the listed prep time was VERY conservative, more like double for me. Also seeded the cukes and put all seeds in the blender. I think it made for a less watery soup. Served with crusty Italian bread and a bottle of Tobasco sauce on the side and it's a meal itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEOFORCE6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This looked and smelled fantastic while I was preparing it! My husband doesn't like vegetable chunks, so I pureed the entire thing. I don't recommend that. I didn't like the texture without the vegetable chunks. Also, it was an unappealing brown color because of the red of the tomatoes combined with the green of the bell pepper. It seems like a red or yellow bell pepper would give this a more attractive color. Anyway, my husband decided that the gazpacho smelled hideous and he wouldn't eat it, so it's all mine. It tasted great as a puree, but I added some chunks back in to improve the texture, and it's terrific! If I make it again, though, I'll try it as a salad without pureeing at all. UPDATE: I did make this again as a salad. It was delicious, but there was a lot of liquid in the bottom of the bowl, so I guess it does need to be partially pureed to incorporate that liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Out of this World! A lot of chopping but so very worth it! I did add a bit of chopped fresh basil too, out of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Very nice recipe; I modified it with several ingredients I had available - a small beet, carrots, a zucchini, and used mostly cilantro, just a little dill, sherry vinegar instead of balsamic. I pureed only about 1/3 instead of 1/2. But the base recipe would be excellent as-is - I can never leave recipes alone! I'll be amazed if this batch lasts long enough to chill down... Planning to serve with a splotch of either sour cream or yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This is a nice gazpacho, I used hot chili oil instead of the jalapeno. The flavor was good, I will make this again, its easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This was delicious! I used an orange pepper instead of a green one to save the colour, and used a few drops of Tabasco as I had no jalapenos. I didn't do any chopping either - I kept 4 tomatoes aside and blended them roughly into everything else at the very end, to make sure there were some lumpy bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Just finished making this and I had to sample it before putting it in the fridge. It's excellent! I didn't use as much dill as it calls for and I also added fresh basil and parsley. I'm sure once it sits for an hour or two it's going to be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I halved the recipe and substituted some lime juice because I didn't have enough lemon. It is wonderful! A great summer dish. I think next time I will use a yellow or red pepper, to preserve color in the liquid as another reviewer suggested. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLu
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I used a 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes instead of fresh. I also used about a teaspoon of garlic powder, a teaspoon of dried basil and I pureed the entire thing. It's very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheeky
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I was just looking for a recipe to use up some dill. Am I glad I found this one! Delicious. I used a red pepper rather than green, and didn't have a jalapeno, instead using some hot sauce. Hubby had never heard of gazpacho, and was very leery of "cold soup," but loved it after he decided to call it "salsa." He ate his with chips, and I garnished mine with seasoned croutons. Restaurant quality for sure. Thanks for posting. Update: If you prepare this thick and chunky, it makes a beautiful company appetizer if you line the bowl with some romaine lettuce, and top with extra dill, croutons and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States