Dill, Feta and Garlic Cream Cheese Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Awesome little recipe! I love it when so few ingredients produce such wonderful results. I cut the recipe in half because I knew this was going to be a lot of cheese spread. I used light cream cheese, 5 oz. of light feta cheese, minced garlic from a jar, and 2 & 1/2 tsp. of dried dill. This is one of those recipes that you have to play with to suit your tastes so go crazy. This was especially good on bagel chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
I make this recipe however I use garlic powder and dry dill plus I add enough sour cream to make it not so stiff. Then I spread it on french bread or farmers bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ravan79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
This was a great recipe that several people asked for and was soooo simple to make. I used dried dill which seemed to work quite well and added a bit more of both the dill and the garlic than the recipe called for. Taste as you make - you may like more or less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Very strong feta taste, but very good, if 'strong' is what you want. I served this in a hollowed out round squash and it was quite a wow-getter. =) Don't we all want that? I used 2 tsp dried dill and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Really tasty and couldn't be easier! This is a great one to make ahead of time and pull out when needed. I agree that it's easy to adjust the amount of seasonings to fit your taste-you can even adjust the amount of feta. Thanks, Bronte! 2005-This recipe was featured in the USA Today weekend section. The REAL submitter is my sweet s-i-l, Susan Getter-You're famous now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Great, I used tomato, basil feta and served with crackers and pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was good with some changes. First of all, the feta makes the spread very salty and as it was also extremely thick, I added sour cream into the mix to reduce the saltiness and give it more of the consistency I was looking for. Will make this again with changes. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was sooooo yummy! Very garlicky, huge feta taste...it was great on seasoned toast rounds. I can't see thinning it with milk, though, like some suggested. I think it would really take away that kick and mellow it out too much. The only think I did differently was to mix all the ingredients with the mixer except the feta and then mix it in at the end. I liked the idea of chunks to give it a bit of texture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I liked this recipe because it was easy and versatile. I cut it in half because it seemed like it made alot. I know that dill has so much flavor, so I added a little bit at a time. Next time I make this, I think I will put the feta cheese through the food processor to break up any chunks. I think I would like it a little smoother. Next time I would also add a tsp. of cracked black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea  Alexander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
This spread was really simple to make and really delicious! I plan on keeping this recipe and using it time and time again! I served it with crackers and everyone really loved it! It was even better the next day! Enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States