Dill Cucumber Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
We have cucumbers coming out of our ears (husband planted huge garden!) so I took a gamble on this recipe and doubled it the first time I made it. IT IS WONDERFUL! I just went to the store and bought 8 more packages of cream cheese because we don't dare run out of this stuff - its addictive! Note: first time I made it I didn't have enough liquid in the pepper sauce, so I added water to the jar & hoped it would work. (A taste test off off my finger proved that it didn't - so I added 1/4 tsp of Cajun seasoning salt to the doubled recipe.) Perfect! I liked the little zing from the Cajun flavor, so next time I make the dip I will add it again w/ maybe just a touch more. Only suggestion I have is to suggest using very mild flavored crackers or chips as the dip is so good - you don't want to overpower it with a strong flavored cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I've been using this recipe for years and we love it. I grill salmon and drop dollops of this on top of the salmon before serving and everyone loves it. When you're dieting and eating low sugar foods and lots of protein it gets boring - so this helped perk up the salmon. Never tried it on crackers. Thanks for the recipe - its become a staple in our house during the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I added a lot more dill than called for, at least a tablespoon. I also drained my cucmber for about half an hour before making the dip. This recipe is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Yummy! A nice alternative to tsatsiki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rendsburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I decided to make one serving to try. I used Toffutti instead of cream cheese, and following the other reviews pureed the cucumber to drain the excess water. I put the rest of the ingredients into the blender, and it was still watery, so added a little more Toffutti and enough bread to thicken it. It still turned out delicious! I will definately make this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This dip is the best! A welcomed change from the typical french onion dip at parties. I promise if you make this, SOMEONE will ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Wonderful recipe. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This dip is definitely very simple, but the taste is amazing. I always use an English cucumber (seedless with 'edible' skin), shred the entire thing in the food processor, and then squeeze out the excess liquid for better texture. Also, definitely use fresh dill, you will not be disappointed. I think the dip's success depends on what you serve it with. My preferences: Garlic Melbas (good for dipping), fresh veggies, and tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Loved it! Added some finely chopped onion. Could just eat this with a spoon, no chips or crackers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I have made this dip about 6 times this summer, and it has been an absolute hit everytime. I have used fresh cucumbers from the garden and cucumbers I bought from the store. Of course, fresh is best but it was still good with the store bought cucs. I've used fat free ingredients as well and it was still really good. I did use about 5 times as much dill as what this recipe calls for--the 1/2 a teaspoon just was not enough. I serve it with salt free mini pretzels--everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States