Dill Cucumber Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This dip is definitely very simple, but the taste is amazing. I always use an English cucumber (seedless with 'edible' skin), shred the entire thing in the food processor, and then squeeze out the excess liquid for better texture. Also, definitely use fresh dill, you will not be disappointed. I think the dip's success depends on what you serve it with. My preferences: Garlic Melbas (good for dipping), fresh veggies, and tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
Awesome! I made this to go with homemade fried zucchini sticks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
We have cucumbers coming out of our ears (husband planted huge garden!) so I took a gamble on this recipe and doubled it the first time I made it. IT IS WONDERFUL! I just went to the store and bought 8 more packages of cream cheese because we don't dare run out of this stuff - its addictive! Note: first time I made it I didn't have enough liquid in the pepper sauce, so I added water to the jar & hoped it would work. (A taste test off off my finger proved that it didn't - so I added 1/4 tsp of Cajun seasoning salt to the doubled recipe.) Perfect! I liked the little zing from the Cajun flavor, so next time I make the dip I will add it again w/ maybe just a touch more. Only suggestion I have is to suggest using very mild flavored crackers or chips as the dip is so good - you don't want to overpower it with a strong flavored cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
I actually made this as a filling for tea sandwiches...I made it as written (except I grated the cucmber and pressed out the water before adding it), then added another 1/2 tsp. dill, dash onion powder, and dash seasoned salt to pump up the flavor a bit. I then added a couple of drops of green food coloring. Along with ham or chicken salad, and cheese spread, it made beautiful ribbon sandwiches. I also had a lot left over which we used as a dip. I would have to say if I used it for sandwiches again, I would probably use 1/2 as much mayo. A very good and useful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Loved it! Added some finely chopped onion. Could just eat this with a spoon, no chips or crackers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I used reduced fat cream cheese/mayonnaise. I made no other changes. This was good but not great--it reminds me a little of tzakiki sauce. I think it could use more dill and maybe some fresh minced garlic. I'd like to play with this recipe. Maybe substitute half nonfat greek yogurt in place of some of the mayonnaise next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I only buy English cucs, which after running thru my food processor, I placed in a colander, sprinkled with salt and let it drain for five hours. I used a soft herbed cream cheese and a tsp. of the dill. Nice dip Reid and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Everyone LOVED this dip! Great way to use up extra cucumbers from the garden. We had this on crackers and veggies. I added a little bit more dill weed than the recipe called for and used HOT chili powder instead of hot sauce, and I thought it was perfect! * * I found that the easiest way to slice up and seed the cucumbers was to cut them in quarters lengthwise, so they're shaped like pickle spears. Then, run a knife along the top of each spear to trim away the seeds. * *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This was delicious. I did double the amount of dill because I couldn't taste it with the amounts stated. I also didn't add the hot pepper sauce (I forgot) and it was still amazing. Can't wait to try this out on company. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I can't stop eating this! It's such a great dip fro summer. This was my first time making this and I realized that I didn't have any mayo, so I subbed in sour cream. It worked out really well. Also, I highly recommend making this with fresh dill. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States