Dill Cucumber Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
Awesome! I made this to go with homemade fried zucchini sticks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
We have cucumbers coming out of our ears (husband planted huge garden!) so I took a gamble on this recipe and doubled it the first time I made it. IT IS WONDERFUL! I just went to the store and bought 8 more packages of cream cheese because we don't dare run out of this stuff - its addictive! Note: first time I made it I didn't have enough liquid in the pepper sauce, so I added water to the jar & hoped it would work. (A taste test off off my finger proved that it didn't - so I added 1/4 tsp of Cajun seasoning salt to the doubled recipe.) Perfect! I liked the little zing from the Cajun flavor, so next time I make the dip I will add it again w/ maybe just a touch more. Only suggestion I have is to suggest using very mild flavored crackers or chips as the dip is so good - you don't want to overpower it with a strong flavored cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I think you need a lot more dill weed than the recipe calls for. I almost tripled it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camping Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Grand Forks, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
I actually made this as a filling for tea sandwiches...I made it as written (except I grated the cucmber and pressed out the water before adding it), then added another 1/2 tsp. dill, dash onion powder, and dash seasoned salt to pump up the flavor a bit. I then added a couple of drops of green food coloring. Along with ham or chicken salad, and cheese spread, it made beautiful ribbon sandwiches. I also had a lot left over which we used as a dip. I would have to say if I used it for sandwiches again, I would probably use 1/2 as much mayo. A very good and useful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
I reduced the mayo by 1/2 and used Miracle Whip in place of the mayo. I also doubled the hot sauce and used the Georgia Peach and Vidalia Onion hot sauce that I get from Peppers (an absolutely must-have). Next time I would probably shred the cucumber. This is definitely a great summertime dip for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Very tasty way to use the cucumbers from my garden. I used fresh dill instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I have made this dip about 6 times this summer, and it has been an absolute hit everytime. I have used fresh cucumbers from the garden and cucumbers I bought from the store. Of course, fresh is best but it was still good with the store bought cucs. I've used fat free ingredients as well and it was still really good. I did use about 5 times as much dill as what this recipe calls for--the 1/2 a teaspoon just was not enough. I serve it with salt free mini pretzels--everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
not very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This dip is the best! A welcomed change from the typical french onion dip at parties. I promise if you make this, SOMEONE will ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Just okay...I think it needs less mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States