Dijon-Tarragon Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
My family raved about the gourmet dinner I provided tonight with this recipe! Based on other reviewers recommendations, I coated the chicken in a dijon/white wine mix and then dredged in seasoned flour. I deglazed the pan with white wine and put in 1/4 chopped onion with it. I also tripled the sauce and used half & half instead of heavy cream. Terrific! Will make again! p.s. I did not have any fresh taragon so I used 1 tsp of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Delicious. I modified the recipe slightly utilizing ingredients on hand ... Spicy brown mustard instead of the Dijon, 1/2 & 1/2 and sour cream instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
It wasn't loaded with flavor as I had hoped. Maybe I will take some of the suggestions of others and add a few things next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I really like this recipe, but made a couple adjustments. It wasn't mentioned but I tenderized the breast halves just a little. Like some of the reviewers have noted, I coated the chicken on both sides with flour before seasoning with salt and pepper. I also doubled the heavy cream, dijon mustard, and the tarragon. The original recipe didn't give us enough sauce! Otherwise, this is a good recipe, and I'll be making this for dinner pretty often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
So easy and delicious. I used one small carton of cream and maybe triple or more of the tarragon because...I love tarragon. It thickened really quickly. There was a lot of extra sauce left over since I used an entire carton of cream. I made it with roasted potatoes and broccoli rabe, and didn't care for the broccoli rabe (made it from frozen, so it was mushy and tasteless even with pepper, salt, red pepper flakes, and freshly grated parm) so I added the extra sauce to the broccoli rabe and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G3ekGir1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My husband is a professional Chef, so it's rare that I manage to make things that blow him away. This did, AND got him to eat his veggies (which he doesn't like..!) My picky kids liked it too! I tweaked it and made a "marinade" of Dijon, Mayo, and Targon let it sit for a couple hours in that…then coated it with Panko Bread crumbs before putting in the buttered skillet. It was a fantastic meal paired with Broccoli and Roast potatoes…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I thought that this chicken recipe was o.k. It had a unique flavor probably due to the tarragon. I've never had fresh tarragon before, but it was not an unpleasant taste just different. I'll make this again and then make some adjustments for personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Tarragon was too..purfumic of an herb for me to enjoy. It was ok but that tarragon, it would be nice to wear like a perfume, just not to eat in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
My only issue with this dish is that there wasn't enough of the sauce!!! My other half, who complains about having chicken once a week even loved this one. I used some pretty thick chicken breasts, and they released a lot of juice into the pan. I think that helped with some of the sauce issues that I saw in other reviews. I may add more chicken stock after I remove the chicken breasts from the skillet so that I can double the sauce, but I would definitely recommend adding some stock or broth if there isn't a lot of juice in the pan. I will definitely be making this over and over, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Absolutely the bomb! I made this the other night and can't WAIT to make it again, it was THAT GOOD. Someone said that they felt like a French chef afterward...I totally agree! I doubled the cream sauce based on one person's recommendation and I'm glad I did because it totally made this dish. Thank you, Deltaqueen50.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States