Dijon-Tarragon Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This recipe looked great as is, but after reading other reviews, I decided to take some of their suggestions. I coated the chicken with lightly seasoned flour prior to browning them. After the breasts were cooked, I removed them from the pan and sautéed 2 minced cloves of garlic, ½ of an onion, chopped, and 1 cup of sliced mushrooms until the onion was soft and the mushrooms were mostly cooked. Then I added the cream, mustard and tarragon with the garlic, onions, and mushrooms. I also tripled the cream-mustard-tarragon “gravy” as we like extra. I served this wonderful chicken with mashed potatoes and asparagus. We will definitely make this again! UPDATE: I have made this dish again, and this time I made a few more changes that previous reviewers had mentioned. I rubbed a light coating of Dijon mustard on the chicken breasts a few hours before cooking and let them sit. I still coated the breasts in seasoned flour before browning. Once the chicken was cooked and I removed it from the pan, I added a splash of white wine (slightly less than a quarter cup) to deglaze the pan prior to sautéing the onions, garlic and mushrooms. My husband said it was the best! This time I served it with Stove-Top chicken dressing and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
560 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This recipe was very good. I added a few things that rounded out the flavors. Changes I made: 1. I coated the chicken with seasoned flour before sauteing in butter/oil mixture. 2. Once the chicken was done, I added 2 minced garlic cloves and 1 minced shallot to the drippings and cooked until soft. 3. I deglazed the pan with a glug of white wine before adding the cream. The garlic, shallots and wine deepened the flavors and gave the dish a better finish. This will definately be one of our favorites from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I'm a personal chef who uses allrecipes ALL of the time. Put this together and it was an incredible hit, had two guests that were from New York City and the other from Philadelphia, both cities incredible hot spots for the worlds best restaurants, they couldn't believe they found a dish comperable if not better here in the Montana mountains that parallel the big cities best. Thank you and allrecipes for all my great recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILHERB

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
As is, I would say this was an okay recipe, but with a few modifications, it is excellent. I coated the chicken in dijon mustard about 3 hours before cooking. Then I dipped in flour and sauteed in oil & butter. I made the sauce as directed, but increased the cream so there would be more sauce. Yummy! The chicken was incredibly tender and moist. My husband raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUGSMOMMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I too made some adjustments on this recipe. I took the advice of others and dusted the chicken with flour and I doubled the sauce recipe. PLUS, after removing the chicken I deglazed the pan with dry white wine, after it reduced by half I added finely chopped shallots. After the shallots cooked for a few minutes I then added the cream. Instead of tarragon in the sauce I added Herbes de Provence, stirred then added back the chicken. I garnished the chicken with fresh chopped tarragon. We used the sauce for the asparagus on the side. My kids (10 & 12) loved the sauce and the chicken. They actually used the sauce to disguise the taste of the asparagus. This is a keeper recipe and I've shared it with friends. Nice and easy but definitely a show stopper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Tasty, easy recipe. My husband loved it and I didn't let on just how easy it was. I changed it some based on the reviews and on our dietary needs: Marinate the chicken breasts for a few hours in white wine and lemon juice. Convection bake at 325 for 20 minutes while making sauce. (These two pre-steps tenderize the chicken.) In a sauce pan, melt 1 TBS unsalted butter and add about 1/4 cup diced red onions, cooking a few minutes. Add about 1/3 cup sliced portabello mushrooms and saute until mushrooms are cooked. Pour into bowl and set aside. Pour 1/2 cup of fat-free half & half to heated saute pan and heat on medium until hot. Whisk into cream 2 TBS Dijon mustard. Stir in 2 TBS chopped fresh Tarragon. Add in onion-mushroom mixture and lower heat to a low simmer. Place baked breasts on a lightly greased heated grill pan and grill 3 minutes each side or until chicken is cooked through. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place on plates and ladle sauce on top. Voila! A gourmet meal awaits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Excellent recipes and good company fare. The only changes I made is to deglaze the pan with white wine (next time I will try brandy), added some chopped garlic and used unsalted butter. Always find that unsalted butter (or sweet butter) gives a much better flavor and does not burn as quickly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I used to make this recipe all the time when I still ate meat. Now that I'm a vegetarian, I still eat this but with mock-chicken instead. It's a delicious and quick recipe that has impressed every single person I know who tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
coated chicken with salt pepper and herbs of provence and let sit for the afternoon. increased tarragon to 1 Tbs, used white wine to deglaze the pan, and added 1 tsp of garlic with the wine. used only 1/2 and 1/2 and milk to cut down on fat. good and classically french recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This recipe is so delicious and everyone I've served it to raves; I always double the sauce and it is just right. Yum Yum. Ya gotta try this one. A super easy, elegant company meal, too. It is also an "Adkins diet" low carb recipe, that is until you add the sauteeing in flour as some have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States