Dijon Crusted Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I halved the recipe for 2 and substituted hot mustard for the Dijon (had no Dijon) It was awesome - defintely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is my first time using this recipes and it was delicious. I used a thicker piece of halibut - 1 to 2 inches thick and it took me about 30-40 minutes for it to cook through. I also had to turn it up to 400 degrees during the last 10 minutes simply because I was scared that it wasn't going to cook. I also used Panko bread crumbs and it came out so beautifully! Overall, I didn't find the mustard, mayo, or horseradish overpowering. It was really good and I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I was really nervous about this recipe because I'm not a big fan of fish. This is now one of my favorite recipes! My husband and I loved it and will definitely be trying it again soon. It's so easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly as written and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa Reynoso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I changed this recipe around a little with the help of other reviews. Primarily, I used panko instead of breadcrumbs and it came out with a really nice crust. Since I like halibut fillets to be about an inch thick, I increased the oven temp to 400 and cooked it about 20-22 mins which it allowed it to cook through and for the panko to brown. I used butter instead of margerine. One of the things to note is the topping ingredients should be doubled if you are using larger fillets -- mine were about 6+ ounces each. Otherwise, amounts are perfect if you like dijon and horseradish - just the right amount spiciness for the mild, tender halibut fillets. EXCELLENT! I have cooked it about 4 times now and everyone raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Very good even though I messed up reading the directions. I only put the bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese in the topping along with leaving out the margarine. I baked for one hour, the fish was done but the top wasn't brown so I put it under the broiler for 2 min. My husband and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was okay but we didn't care much for it. I think it was the mayo taste that I didn't like. I used cod and it turned out fine. The Hungry Teen didn't finish his either, and he LOVES fish of any kind. Thanks, it was fun trying out a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe was amazing!! I used red snapper instead of halibut, which turned out very nice. Put the oven to 400 degrees instead of 350 and cooked the fish for about 10 minutes at the suggestion of my guest. I also took someones advice to use more dressing, and let the fish sit for about 40 minutes in the fridge before cooking. I made it for two Alaskan fishermen, and they loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
We really liked this recipe and will definetly use it again. Halibut is a delightfully light fish which could be easily overpowered. Since all Dijon Mustards are not created equal I would highly recommend tasting the one you are using and adjusting the recipe so that it doesn't take over all of the flavour. Lunch leftovers were just as delightful as the original meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Really good. Husband loved it so I will definately be making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Way too bland - Halibut needs more flavoring - I used fresh horseradish but hardly any flavor. Will not make again unless I can figure out a way to kick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SycamoreMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States