Dijon Crusted Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
This was great! I used fat free mayo and extra virgin olive oil in place of the butter and it was delicious and healthy. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SheffShannon
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This recipe is FANTASTIC! However, I would recommend using only 1 tsp. of the Dijon mustard- not 1 tbsp. The flavor of the Dijon mustard can be overpowering, potentially masking the flavor of the halibut. Also, make sure you cook it at a higher temperature. Otherwise, the breadcrumb-crusted fish will be a bit soggy at the bottom. However, if you use high heat, this will quickly evaporate all of the water that naturally comes out of the fish when baked. Other than that, this recipe has a GREAT flavor. The Parmesan adds a great flavor. I served it as a fish sandwich with aioli on the side. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Given comments that the fish needed more cooking time, wasn't crunchy or didn't get brown, I made a couple of small changes to correct. I raised the oven temperature to 400 degrees, put the pan on the upper third of the oven, and baked the filets about 20 minutes. Also, I drizzled the fish with about 2 T. of extra melted butter, letting some of it flow onto the pan. These small changes made the coating crisp and golden brown and the fish perfectly cooked. While this is not my favorite way to prepare halibut, it was an interesting change. I won't be making this again, however, as hubby didn't like it at all (in fact, his ended up in the garbage can). He thought the topping too heavy and overpowering for this delicately flavored fish, preferring it more simply prepared. I have to agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This is a killer recipe!! I Used halibut from Alaska which had been frozen and vacuumed sealed. I didn't have horseradish so instead used Trader Joes sweet hot mustard and didn't use the required Dijon mustard. I used 2 tablespoons. In place of the bread crumbs I used Panko Japenese Bread Crumbs. I also used Panko for mixing the topping. After cooking for 15 minutes at 350, I popped it under the broiler for about two minutes to get the top golden brown. This turned out great. Hubby was in heaven. Makes him want to go fishing for more halibut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIDGE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
As I was sharing this dinner with someone who is lactose intolerant, I could not use parmesan cheese in the recipe; instead, we added ground macadamia nuts - it turned out great. Even my seven-year-old (who hates both mustard and horseradish.. ) thought this fish was yummy. In response to the reviewer who thought that the ingredients overpowered the fish: use thick halibut steaks instead of fillets, and you will have plenty of fish flavour (and texture) to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I used tilapia for this recipe and it was amazing! After just 15 minutes in the oven, the fish was so moist and tasty. I served garlic herb potatoes and carrots with a brown sugar sauce on the side. Try this recipe if you're looking for something quick and easy to serve to guests or your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Pretty good. I am however going to be the rebel reviewer and say that the breadcrumbs overwhelmed the taste of the dijon-horseradish (which is the reason that I wanted to try this, we love horseradish & were looking for a kick). We didn't hate it, but it didn't knock our socks off either. If I make it again, Ill fix the bread crumb issue. Thanks Christine ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
Quick, easy, and very tasty! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Made just as is and actually only cooked 2 fillets but the same amount of sauce and topping as my husband likes sauces--this is divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
Sorry, my husband and I found the mixture far too tangy. We actually scraped the mixture off the top. I will make it again, but I will modify it by cutting the mustard and horseradish in half, and add fresh garlic to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States