Dijon Crusted Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Way too bland - Halibut needs more flavoring - I used fresh horseradish but hardly any flavor. Will not make again unless I can figure out a way to kick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SycamoreMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
We loved this. I went light on the horseradish as it's not one of my fav. flavors but I like a hint of it and it does go well in this mix. Went a bit heavy on the lemon juice and I have become a devoted panko fan for bread crumbs. Just about all I use now and they are great on this - light and crunchy. Thanks for sharing Christy. Will use this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This dish was a hit! Loved it! I used romano cheese because I did not have parmasean. We loved it. Also had basmati rice and roasted vegetables. The whole dinner was as Rachel Ray would say: delisssshhhh!!! *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
LOW CALORIE OPTION WITH THE SAME TASTE.... I SUBSTITUTED THE MAYO AND THE HORSERADISH WITH A WASABI FINISHING SAUCE AND REDUCED THE AMOUNT. I OMITTED THE BUTTER AND USED THE REMAINING LEMON TO SQUEEZE OVER THE TOP. I ALSO ADDED A SMALL AMOUNT OF CHOPPED PINE NUTS AND FRESH CHOPPED GARLIC TO THE SPREAD. I SERVED WITH ASPARAGUS GRILLED IN THE OVEN FOR 15 MIN NEXT TO THE HALIBUT...JUST LIGHTED COATED WITH OLIVE OIL SPARY, SEA SALT, AND FRESH BLACK PEPER. ALSO SERVED WITH A WHOLE WHEAT LINGUINI PESTO. GREAT COMBO THAT I'M SURE DR. OZ WOULD APPROVE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Roehrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight and we really enjoyed it! I did put my own spin on it - I used light Miracle Whip in place of the mayo, I used less mustard (about 1 tsp) and less horseradish (a generous tsp). Lastly, I used panko instead of breadcrumbs. We loved it, it was very tasty - but next time I will reduce the butter - 2 Tbsp is a bit much in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
A tasty halibut recipe which I made with fresh 1-inch thick steaks. I omitted the horseradish (didn't have any) and used panko crumbs in place of the dry bread crumbs. I cooked the fish at 400 degrees F. for just over 20 minutes. I like the recipe for a change with halibut. Thanks for sharing, Christy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was wonderful, I loved it! I did use tilapia instead of halibut, and I seasoned my fish with salt, pepper and garlic powder before spreading the paste on them. Panko bread crumbs made a wonderfully crunchy topping and worked much better than traditional bread crumbs. I used olive oil rather than butter for the topping also. I left the paste off of my son's portion, and I'm glad I did because I had just enough the liberally cover the other three fillets. I served this with rice and mixed veggies and had dinner on the table in less than 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I have been cooking fish for a long time and was looking for an alternative to fried fish. I have just tried this recipe and it is 100% wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Excellent twist on halibut! Kids loved it....parents loved it. Mouth-watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Lewis
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I didn't have the bread crumbs the first time I made this, so I just did without. It turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarletwind82

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States