Digestive Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I thought these cookies were great! I rolled them out and cut them into whales and dolphins for a business lecture at a whaling museum and they flew off the plate! (My pets loved them too!) I made some with a peanut butter glaze, and those were great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Good biscuit, just like a McVities. Caramel and milk chocolate make a great topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This is the best recipe for digestive biscuits I have tried, and I have tried quite a few!! The flavour and texture is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
These cookies hit the spot when I was looking for a not-too-sweet cookie to have with my tea. Yes, a trifle chewy, but good crunch too. I like 'em!!! (I used 1/2 all purpose flour, 1/2 barley flour, and they turned out great.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
These are delicious and easy to make. I substituted flax seed meal and water for the eggs and even then, they were delicious. The only suggestion I would make is to make a double batch because they will disappear fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Fantastic! Different from store bought, but very nice with a cup of tea! (I substituted the butter and milk with vegan alternatives - they are great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is recipe is quite good when baking for children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Definitely not McVities Digestives, but if you're not comparing them to the store bought cookie, they're pretty good. They have a wholesome, slightly sweet taste with a bit of a grainy texture. On the downside, they were very difficult to roll out, as the dough is very sticky! I refrigerated my dough to help out with the stickiness, but still needed lots of dusting flour. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
We have always wanted to try to make our own Dark Chocolate Digestive Biscuits and these turned out good, we kept very close to the recipe and give 4 stars, we will now try again and play a bit with the ingredients, a shorter cooking time, and we are sure we can give 5 star Rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianc&Orawan

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
After reading other reviews, I creamed the butter and sugar, added the dry ingredients and added just enough milk to get it to hold together, about 3 Tbsps. The cookies were crispy, but not chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States