Digestive Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Being a British expat I hoped these would taste like the Digestive Biscuits I miss so much, but NO. Maybe they would be good with butter and cheese as a cracker rather than a biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Definitely not McVities Digestives, but if you're not comparing them to the store bought cookie, they're pretty good. They have a wholesome, slightly sweet taste with a bit of a grainy texture. On the downside, they were very difficult to roll out, as the dough is very sticky! I refrigerated my dough to help out with the stickiness, but still needed lots of dusting flour. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This is the best recipe for digestive biscuits I have tried, and I have tried quite a few!! The flavour and texture is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
These are delicious and easy to make. I substituted flax seed meal and water for the eggs and even then, they were delicious. The only suggestion I would make is to make a double batch because they will disappear fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
Didn't taste like the "digestive" cookie I'm used to. I guess I shouldn't compare but it wasn't what I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Brit in US- Good Start but not quite there yet. Not at all like store bought. I would like to see this alot lighter & flakier like a true digestive biscuit. I used stone cut oatmeal which may acct. for the density, next time I'll try w rolled quick oats Next I would try with pastry flour & all ingredients cold to see if that makes a difference. WHO WOULDN"T WANT A GOOD DIGESTIVE BISCUIT! WILLING TO WORK ON THIS!! THRILLED TO HAVE FOUND THIS AS A BASE TO WORK FROM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Mills Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I found these fairly bland, a tad tough (but oddly chewy too), but then, I was hoping for something that tasted like McVitie's Digestive Biscuits. These were entirely different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I dipped in chocolate and then in finely crused walnuts to try to save them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
The biscuits had a nice crunch to them and a coating of dark chocolate really brought out the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
worst name EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raisinpickle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States