Digestive Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Being a British expat I hoped these would taste like the Digestive Biscuits I miss so much, but NO. Maybe they would be good with butter and cheese as a cracker rather than a biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Definitely not McVities Digestives, but if you're not comparing them to the store bought cookie, they're pretty good. They have a wholesome, slightly sweet taste with a bit of a grainy texture. On the downside, they were very difficult to roll out, as the dough is very sticky! I refrigerated my dough to help out with the stickiness, but still needed lots of dusting flour. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This is the best recipe for digestive biscuits I have tried, and I have tried quite a few!! The flavour and texture is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
These are delicious and easy to make. I substituted flax seed meal and water for the eggs and even then, they were delicious. The only suggestion I would make is to make a double batch because they will disappear fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
Didn't taste like the "digestive" cookie I'm used to. I guess I shouldn't compare but it wasn't what I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Brit in US- Good Start but not quite there yet. Not at all like store bought. I would like to see this alot lighter & flakier like a true digestive biscuit. I used stone cut oatmeal which may acct. for the density, next time I'll try w rolled quick oats Next I would try with pastry flour & all ingredients cold to see if that makes a difference. WHO WOULDN"T WANT A GOOD DIGESTIVE BISCUIT! WILLING TO WORK ON THIS!! THRILLED TO HAVE FOUND THIS AS A BASE TO WORK FROM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishblueeyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I found these fairly bland, a tad tough (but oddly chewy too), but then, I was hoping for something that tasted like McVitie's Digestive Biscuits. These were entirely different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I dipped in chocolate and then in finely crused walnuts to try to save them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
The biscuits had a nice crunch to them and a coating of dark chocolate really brought out the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
worst name EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raisinpickle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States