Digestive Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Fantastic! Different from store bought, but very nice with a cup of tea! (I substituted the butter and milk with vegan alternatives - they are great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
worst name EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raisinpickle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Tasty! My batter was sticky and loose, like cookie dough, so I found it odd kneading it and rolling it out, basically I nearly doubled the flour just because I had to keep adding flour to keep it from sticking to my table and rolling pin. Nonetheless, came out good. I couldnt resist being a fat American and adding choc chips to half, but I have to say it's better as a bland-ish cookie rather than with the chips. The key is to bake it til it's really golden brown and crispy, those were the best. Also add some flaky salt on top, they needed it. Lets reclaim the cookie as a "digestive" health food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
After reading other reviews, I creamed the butter and sugar, added the dry ingredients and added just enough milk to get it to hold together, about 3 Tbsps. The cookies were crispy, but not chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Relatively bland, and not like store-bought biscuits at all. Sort of a basic wheat flour cookie. Simple and easy to make, but not what you would expect from a digestive biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
These are delicious and easy to make. I substituted flax seed meal and water for the eggs and even then, they were delicious. The only suggestion I would make is to make a double batch because they will disappear fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Brit in US- Good Start but not quite there yet. Not at all like store bought. I would like to see this alot lighter & flakier like a true digestive biscuit. I used stone cut oatmeal which may acct. for the density, next time I'll try w rolled quick oats Next I would try with pastry flour & all ingredients cold to see if that makes a difference. WHO WOULDN"T WANT A GOOD DIGESTIVE BISCUIT! WILLING TO WORK ON THIS!! THRILLED TO HAVE FOUND THIS AS A BASE TO WORK FROM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Mills Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
We have always wanted to try to make our own Dark Chocolate Digestive Biscuits and these turned out good, we kept very close to the recipe and give 4 stars, we will now try again and play a bit with the ingredients, a shorter cooking time, and we are sure we can give 5 star Rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianc&Orawan

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
These cookies hit the spot when I was looking for a not-too-sweet cookie to have with my tea. Yes, a trifle chewy, but good crunch too. I like 'em!!! (I used 1/2 all purpose flour, 1/2 barley flour, and they turned out great.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I found these fairly bland, a tad tough (but oddly chewy too), but then, I was hoping for something that tasted like McVitie's Digestive Biscuits. These were entirely different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States