Different Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Hi, I am the author of this recipe. I had a change of last name..lol Anyway I have lost my original name and can't get it back if I wanted to, I have tried to get them to give me my account back under my new name but so far no luck! The reason I am writing is to let you guys know that this dish IS supposed to be served over white rice and yes by all means cut down on the curry if you like, I use 1 TBLSP. I am so happy that most people have enjoyed this recipe! If you like something MUCH milder, try Lisa Adams chicken noodle casserole. Another thing about this recipe that I have started doing over time is not adding the crunchy onions until the last 5 minutes of baking time. I will get around to posting more recipes under my new name soon. Thx again and Bon Appetit! 08-25-04
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
CUT PREP AND CLEANUP BY HALF! (But baking time is doubled to one hour). I used 2 heads raw broccoli florets (cut rather small) and placed them on the bottom. Then I cubed 2 pounds of raw chicken and placed it atop. The sauce went next; cover chicken well with sauce, then cover the PAN. I baked this for 30 minutes, then remove cover and added the cheese and onions and baked an additional half hour. I do agree that the onions make it, and I didn't even use the full amount. For our own tastes, I only added 1/2 a teaspoon of Madras curry powder, and it was plenty. BUT DO ADD about 2 Tbsp. fresh squeezed LEMON JUICE to the sauce. It really, really adds to the flavor! (If hesitant, mix a squeeze into a spoonful of the sauce--you'll see :) ) The cayenne is a great addition; I used full amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
This recipe was excellent! My family has always enjoyed this dish but your additions of garlic, cayenne and onions really made a big difference. In the past I'd used breadcrumbs on the cheese as a topping which are good--this is better. I generally don't like cayenne pepper but have to admit it made a big difference in the taste. NOTE: The amount of curry powder to add depends on the brand start with 1 1/2 teas and go up to as much as 2 Tablespoons depending on taste. I was shocked when I switched brands and found I needed to cut the curry amount down to a fourth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
The words out of my husband's mouth "this is so good, make this again." Made me feel great. I reduced the curry and cayenne pepper, reduced the mayo and added some sour cream. The soup mixture was a little thick so I added some milk to thin it out a little. LIke one reveiwer said, the onions make the recipe. I put onions on one side and left them off on the other side. Big mistake. You could definitely make this healthier. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This dish is very salty (check out the sodium content!). Using reduced salt products and replacing the garlic salt with a lesser amount of garlic powder helped. The curry adds a terrific flavor but doesn't overpower the dish. See my "meal idea" for suggested side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
If I could give this more than five stars, I would. This dish has become my husband's absolute favorite. My whole family loves it, including my three preschool aged children. Instead of mayonnaise, I use plain yogurt and it comes out just fine. In fact, I prefer it with plain yogurt instead of mayo. A quick and easy meal. We eat it over rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
LOVED this recipe! I didn't have the means to weigh out a pound of broccoli, but I didn't put in enough- this may just be the best way to eat broccoli, so don't skimp! Next time I'll try two HEAPING cups and see how it is:) Also, I added plain garlic powder instead of garlic salt, and omitted the extra salt all together. This is definitely a new staple in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Oh man, this was good! We love curry and cayenne so my gang got the best of both worlds. I actually added more curry than called for, but I wouldn't recommend it if you not a true curry lover. I used low salt soups and garlic powder instead of garlic salt. So delicious Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Yum! This was quite tasty, after reading so many reviews about too much curry, I cut it way back to 1 1 1/2 teaspoon. The dish was still good, but I will follow the author's suggestion next time and do a whole Tablespoon. I used regular McCormick curry, maybe it's milder than fancier kinds?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Wilds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This was delicious! I used leftover marinated turkey breasts that we had grilled a few days before. Using Healthy Request soups did not compromise the flavor, which made me feel better about licking my fork clean:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States