Different Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I loved this recipe! I will have to say that the spices were a little strong. I think that is the reason why my husband didn't like it so much. Next time I make it I will cut down the amounts of each of the spices slightly and hopefully he will like it better, because this is a recipe I would like to make fairly often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
We liked this a lot. I used leftover chicken that had been prepared with curry and I cut down on both the curry (used 1/2 tbs) and cayenne (used 1/4 tsp) and it was the perfect amount of spice for us. I used frozen broccoli that I thawed, rinsed, and patted dry with no problems. I also made a Persian rice (called Ketah I think) to make it more authentic. Thanks for sharing, it was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Not the healthiest,but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Didn't have any curry but made as is otherwise. This was pretty good but I may have gone overboard on the cayenne pepper. Definitely had a kick! The onions definitely made this dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
As far as my family is concerned this one of the best! I use only 1 tbsp curry as 1-1/2 is way too overpowering. Other than that the recipe is perfect. Every guest I've served it to requests the recipe as well. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I love this! I like to serve it over rice. My mother-in-law really enjoyed the curry flavor. Don't buy the cheap store brand onions (I got great value from Walmart and they were bland) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is quite good - a little like the recipe on this site for Chicken Casserole del Sol, but (frankly) easier. I made this last night and didn't notice until just now that the recipe called for cooked broccoli. I took two heads of raw broccoli, peeled the stems, chopped them up - not even that small, some of those florets were pretty big! - and threw them on top of the chicken. Turned out great, actually; the broccoli was cooked just right, still slightly firm. I don't think I'd change a thing next time since I like my veggies with a little texture. Other than that - omitted the French-fried onions and used crushed cornflakes instead, eyeballed the cheese on top (didn't use anywhere near the amount called for), used one can of reduced-fat soup and half reduced-fat mayo, and kept all of the spices the same. We'll make this again! Edit: Also good with a pound of fresh mushrooms layered in with the chicken and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Very good. A little salty but I didn't use sodium free soups or anything like that although I did leave out the garlic salt and just used fresh garlic. I threw TONS of raw broccoli on the bottom of the pan, fresh mushrooms (jeez when do I not add mushrooms?) and we just had a tiny bit of leftover rotisserie chicken so I threw that in there and poured the sauce on top. I think I baked it a little bit longer than it said to but still easier than pre-cooking the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Marietta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Great Recipe !!! I used yogurt for mayo as others indicated and also used healthy request soups. This is a great dish that I will make on a regular basis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweeneySK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I followed this recipe very loosely. I actually used four cups of shredded chicken and added one yellow onion and six ounces of cooked egg noodles to the mix. I also added a cup of sour cream and a 1/2 cup of white wine to the sauce, along with 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice. I reduced the curry powder to 1 tablespoon and the cheddar to 1 cup. I put crushed saltine crackers mixed with melted butter in place of the french fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States