Different Chicken Cordon Bleu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I make another recipe very similar to this one so I incorporated some changes that worked really well for me. I mixed together the soup with 1/2 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup lowfat evap. milk (or you could use regular milk), and substituted 1/4 cup dry sherry for the wine. Then I sprinkled garlic powder and fresh ground pepper (you don't need salt) directly over the chicken breasts, placed the ham and cheese on each piece and poured the sauce evenly over the top. I recommend preparing the stuffing according to the package directions. It turns out really good this way. If you do use dry stuffing be sure to mix it with some melted butter and maybe a little water to moisten it up a bit. They will still be firm but after baking they will soften up. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes, then remove foil and bake another 20 minutes. I got a great result with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2000
Easy and tasty. A whole bag of stuffing is way too much for a 9x13 in. dish. Probably half would do just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I made this Saturday night and it was a hit with the whole family. We all like Cordon Bleu, but it's time consuming to do it the regular way. This was easy, fast and delicious!! I didn't change a thing in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I make this for guys all the time and I swear it makes them fall in love with me! :) If you don't like the saltiness, buy low-salt cream of chicken soup. Also, it does need more time to cook so give yourself an extra hour or so for cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grayling, Michigan, USA
Living In: Evansville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very easy to make. We had company over to dinner and it was really enjoyed by both the parents and school age kids. Only made one addition to the recipe - I added about 1 tablespoon of Dijon mustard to the sauce... I just love the stuff. I used rather large chicken breasts, so cooked my dish for a full hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I have been making this dinner and a quicker variation of it for years. Very tasty and easy. If I'm pinched for time I saute the chicken breasts in butter,garlic salt & pepper. While they simmer I make the sauce (slicing the ham into thin strips) while I boil a pound of noodles. Drain the noodles and lay them on a platter. Top with chicken breasts and ladle the sauce over the chicken. I either skip the stuffing or use the stovetop method to make it and serve along side. Add a green vegetable...we love brocolli and serve. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
GREAT DISH, I USED BONELESS, SKINLESS CHICKEN THEIGHS IN PLACE OF BREASTS, THEY ARE A LOT JUCIER. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was a very easy recipe and it was a hit with the family. Only modification I made was I used Cream of Chicken Soup with herbs. It gave the dish a little more flavor. Will add this to my dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLESF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
Awesome! Really Easy, Really tasty! The only thing I would change is the salt. No need for ANY! The ham gives a salty flavor in some cases, and some of the herbs found in the bread crumbs add to the flavor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
I thought that the recipe was wonderful. It was quick and easy to make. We had leftovers and the next night I cut it up and served it over rice. It was even better the second night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States