Dietetic Banana Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Added three bananas and more apple sauce and cinnamon...good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I found the muffins to be a bit bland, despite having added 1 tsp vanilla, which the recipe dopes not call for. Next time, I will add 1/4 teaspoon or 1/2 teaspoon salt. I also found the muffins a bit tough. I don;t know if it was because of the whole wheat flour or because my 'wet' ingredients were not overly wet and I had to mix quite a bit to moisten the ingredients. The batter was much firmer than the batter in my other muffin recipes. Not sure what to do about that. Maybe add a touch of milk? I will make the recipe again and tweak it a bit to see if they come out better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Excellent. These muffins are delicious. I used cinnamon Applesauce in both the muffins and topping. The topping recipe came from Lighter Banana Crumb Muffins submitted by aradi. To the batter I added 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and 3/4 tsp. cinnamon as suggested by another reviewer. Don't add too much batter to the muffin tin or the topping will overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was a great recipe. I used oat flour as that was all I had. Will try it again with a gluten free flour. I had made my own organic applesauce and knew that it was very sweet so I cut the sweetener to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Yes, I just tried the recipe and having been diagnosed with diabetes for a month now I was really happy with the nutritional information that was with the recipe as I have to keep tabs. Thanks a million, Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made these for my papa who is diabetic, and he loved them. He shared with his diabetic neighbor, and she requested I make them for her as well. I used pureed apple instead of apple sauce to save from the added sugars. They love them! I also make them in mini size so they are smaller portions, and they don't feel guilty when they reach for 2.. or 3. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I didn't have all of the recommended ingredients like the wheat flour so I'm giving the exact recipe the benefit of the doubt with the 4-star rating. Some of the changes I made the second time around included using 3 bananas (making about a cup and a half mashed), about 3/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce, a generous splash of skim milk, and about 1 1/5 tablespoons of honey. Also used the full eggs and tossed in about 3/4 cup of chopped walnuts. They came out great, though, and I think are still satisfactorily "low-fat".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Turned out great. Very tasty and satisfying. Low fat too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Not sure how anyone can find fault with this recipe. I didn't have whole wheat flour, so I used regular all-purpose flour and 2 cups of bananas. I also added 2 tablespoons of light brown sugar, walnuts, and dried cranberries. These muffins are AWESOME! Eating one as I type and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carling5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States