Dietetic Banana Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
These were okay. I am normally all for low-sugar, fat-free things, but I was a little bit disappointed with these. I used fat-free yogurt instead of applesauce per another reviewer's suggestions and also added 1 tsp. of vanilla. The first muffin I had was still warm and was pretty good, but after they cooled they took on a somewhat strange consistency. Still somewhat tasty and definitely edible, but just an overall disappointment for huge banana bread lovers like myself! Sometimes the end result is worth the small amount of fat/calories. Thanks for a great alternative, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GlassWalls
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
These weree good. :) Very moist on the inside, but I didn't like the outside as much. Either way, yay guilt free muffins. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
These were much better than I was expecting! Very moist and have great banana flavor - I made as is except I added a teaspoon of vanilla for flavor and I'm glad I did. I also used Splenda sugar blend instead of 100% Splenda and sprikled some chopped walnuts on top before baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I'm on weight watchers and they were great. Two of these equal one regular muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wittenberg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe! I am diabetic so I am always looking for easier ways to stay away from a lot of sweets. The recipe was easy and I took some to work and they were an instant hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I added 1/8 cup ground flax seed for fiber and moisture. I could taste the Splenda, but it was not as strong the second day. I would fix them again, but maybe try adding pumpkin instead of applesauce (0 points), some vanilla flavoring, even some fat free sugar free banana instant pudding. Glad I tried the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
These were EXCELLENT!! I've never been so pleased with a NO FAT, NO SUGAR recipe!!! I didn't tell the family they were "healthy", and they loved them!!! I added more banana then the recipe called for, only because I had 3 over-ripe bananas... oooohhh... so good!!! It would have probably been better with some wheat flour like the recipe suggests, but we didn't have any... but they were STILL REALLY great!!! Also, used egg beaters (1/2 cup) instead of two egg whites, just for convienance... egg beaters is pretty much just that - egg whites... plus some other stuff! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY @ A Better Way Farm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Very impressed. I've never baked with splenda before, and was pleasantly suprised. I'm on weight watchers and this makes a great little evening snack with low points!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This recipe is fantastic. My 2 year old (who won't eat anything!) even loves them. For a little added extra I added 1/4 cup chopped walnuts. My son isn't a diabetic but I wanted to keep away from the more sugary muffins, even so I added a little white chocolate chip just for interest and he loved that even more. The mango-peach applesauce is a great suggestion. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Finally a lowfat, sugarfree muffin that tastes like a muffin should! I made these twice this week. Using the 1/2cup wholewheat flour makes them nicer. Also I cut the sugar sub to 1/2cup using part slenda and part brown sugar twin. The last batch I added 2teaspoons of real sugar too. I find this makes the texture and taste better without affecting a diabetic at all. Instead of 2 egg whites, I used 1 whole egg. This still makes each muffin less than 1 gram of fat. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States