Dietetic Banana Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Really good! After reading most of the reviews I decided to add an extra banana and also a tablespoon of sugar free instant vanilla pudding. I also used 1/4 cup of regular brown sugar in place of 1/4 cup of the sugar substitute. They turned out very moist and flavorful, but not too sweet. That is a good thing and I will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I've, too, made this with three bananas, and added a tablespoon of splenda brown sugar mix and 1/4 cup of chocolate chips - making it just low-sugar and low-fat. It was a hit and a few hours later we just have 6 muffins left. I suggest adding 1 tsp of salt. Great recipe and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renata Rocha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This recipe's title is a misnomer because there are no nuts in this?? I followed the recipe to the letter but did put a pecan on the top of each muffin. The texture is somewhere between light and dense and just a little bit chewy. Used two bananas, and they turned out plenty moist. Next time, I think I'll cut back the Splenda a bit, maybe try 1/2 cup. Honestly, I won't say that these are my favorite banana muffins, but I'm watching what I eat these days, and this is about as good as it gets nutritionally for a banana muffin. For anybody doing the Weight Watchers Plus Program, this converts to 2 points (and that's EXCELLENT). Enjoyed and will be making again. Thanks Bridget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I have been looking for a good banana muffin recipe that is sugar free, this was was delicious. I will definitely make again. I used 3 whole bananas & added 1/2 tspn vanilla like someone else had suggested. Plus a cup walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I make these for my dad who is newly diagnosed as diabetic. He loves them! I make them for him when ever I visit and we freeze some so he can just take out 1 or 2 as he wants them without having to worry about "reading a label"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These were good for a diabetic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Great muffins! Made these for a friend who has to follow a cardiac diet. The only changes I made were adding a little vanilla and using all whole wheat flour. Yum! Friend loved them and so did all the nurses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I used all white flour, cut back to 1/2 c. Splenda, used 3 bananas, and used Mott's Country Berry Applesauce. I did add a splash of milk because it was way too dry. I swirled a teaspoon of Smucker's low-sugar strawberry preserves into the top of each. Did not use liners, sprayed pan with Pam. These came out super moist and dense. They could definitely use some nuts for crunch but other than that they are really yummy! I recommend sprinkling the top with something-nuts, jam, choco chips because splenda doesn't brown and the muffins look unappealing. Plus, it gives it a little extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
With a couple of minor changes, this recipe came out delicious! I used bread flour in place of all-purpose (which I often do when recipes call for a mix with whole wheat flour), added another 1/4 c of applesauce, 2 tbsp brewers yeast, 2 tbsp milled flax seeds, and 1 tsp or so nutmeg. I also used one whole egg instead of the egg whites. They were moist, fluffy and had a very satisfying flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Great recipe, I gave them 5 stars because they are remorse free and they taste great compared to the almost no calories they have I made my own apple sauce (Sarah's Applesauce) and used splenda instead of regular sugar, I guess that makes the muffins even more dietetic I also sifted the dry ingredients because it gives more volume to the muffins If you care a lot about your figure like I do, try them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States