Diet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
Peg..This is delicious!! My hubby gobbled it up and he is not a veggie fan! I also substituted canned tomatoes for fresh and, as you suggested, added a variety of vegtables I like. I added lots of pepper and some vegtable broth to spice it up a bit. What I really liked was that it was simple and I had everything I needed without having to go to the grocery store. Hope this helps the pounds pour off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I really like this recipe. I make it and put 1 serving portions in a freezer bag then reheat them about 1-2 times a week to help cut down on the calories Im sure Im loading up on durring the week. Its good and it makes me full without all the unwanted calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Great recipe to start a "get in shape" regiment before summer. As mentioned in other reviews, it is extremely low in calories, and has no fat, it fills you up fast too! I added 3 diced jalepeno peppers (seeds removed), and some kidney beans for protein. You can use any leftover veggies you have on hand and create a great low-fat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I love this recipe! It's very versatile. The first time i made it i followed the recipe as written and it was good but a little bland for me. I remember my Mom-Mom Jewell making it with V-8 juice so last night i used the same recipe but i used a combination of chicken broth, water and V-8 juice and omited the french onion soup mix altogether. I used fresh green beans instead of frozen which i thought made it better. I didn't have tomatoes so i used a can of diced tomatoes instead. I think corn would be good too some fresh corn off the cob mmm... I love the cabbage in this soup. The amount of veggies you use can be altered to suit your taste. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper and s&p.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Great recipe, I omit celery & green beans as a taste preference. Not sure why this got bad reviews, everything else I made as directed and porportions were great-- not dieting, just needed a new soup to make. A medium head of cabbage wilts up well in this soup, perhaps someone else used a larger cabbage, only thing I can think of. I love it,my husband loves it and it reheats well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
This recipe was delicious just as is. I'm sure we will add variety as suggested. This is a wonderful way to get your daily requirement for vegetables. My husband isn't trying to lose weight, but he enjoyed the soup as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This recipe is VERY TASTY and FULL of flavor!! If losing weight is this easy, I'll be skinny in no time! I followed the recipe with these changes. I used canned tomatoes w/basil, 2 large cubes chicken boullion, had to add 4 cups more water with all the vegetables I added, about 10 small sliced fresh mushrooms, one zucchini, 4 cloves crushed garlic, half of a large red pepper and one jalepeno w/ out seeds, 2 bay leaves, t. cayenne pepper, 2 T. parsley, t. Oregano, fresh basil, 2 T Olive oil, 2 cans canneloni beans (rinsed), salt to flavor. It made a lot but I am freezing part of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Higgins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I love this recipe because you can personalize it so easily to fit your taste. I add one green pepper (chopped), one bunch of green onion (diced), one bunch of celery (diced), 2 chicken bullion cubes, one can of diced tomatoes, 3 dashes of hot sauce, 1 tsp. crushed red pepper, 1 tblsp. Italian seasoning. I omit the green beans and use only one packet of Lipton's onion. When the cabbage is almost tender, I add 16 oz of fresh bella mushrooms. Sometimes I'll add some ham to it. This makes a low calorie and very filling large pot of soup that will last a week in the fridge. You will not like this soup if you don't like cabbage. If this is the case, just omit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Very simple and easy and as previous raters said...versatile. You can add so many different ingredients to tailor it to your taste. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I couldn't find the dry soup so I used Swanson broth instead of water and dry mix. It turned out great. I like spicy food so I added fresh seeded jalapenos and topped the final product with lime and tapatio (chile sauce.)Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States