Diet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I love this recipe because you can personalize it so easily to fit your taste. I add one green pepper (chopped), one bunch of green onion (diced), one bunch of celery (diced), 2 chicken bullion cubes, one can of diced tomatoes, 3 dashes of hot sauce, 1 tsp. crushed red pepper, 1 tblsp. Italian seasoning. I omit the green beans and use only one packet of Lipton's onion. When the cabbage is almost tender, I add 16 oz of fresh bella mushrooms. Sometimes I'll add some ham to it. This makes a low calorie and very filling large pot of soup that will last a week in the fridge. You will not like this soup if you don't like cabbage. If this is the case, just omit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I think this recipe is good but for older people, just a tip for other members dont use the onion mix thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Easy, Easy!!! This is a great healthy soup but only put in half a cabbage and instead of putting the cabbage and fresh tomatoes in with all the other vegetables, put them in when the other vegetables are almost cooked because they cooked really fast and got overcooked when I used this recipe as it is, It was still great and got many compliments. Also ADD some salt and pepper or at least some Italian Seasoning, basil, oregano, to add more flavor and it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I perfer it with campbelles non-fat chicken stock - and without the onions soup mix. Instead of the 3 fresh tomatoes, I used a can of crushed tomatoes and pureed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNICK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I know others have given this soup a high rating. That makes me think if I did something wrong. My soup was really cabbagy. If I make it again, I would put maybe half or even quater of the cabbage. I like vegetables, so was surprised at how this turned out. Maybe like the others said, add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
Needs lots of spices to keep it interesting! Great combo of veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
This recipe was delicious just as is. I'm sure we will add variety as suggested. This is a wonderful way to get your daily requirement for vegetables. My husband isn't trying to lose weight, but he enjoyed the soup as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This is a good soup. I doctored it up a bit with spices and herbs but it provides a great basic diet soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Good. The onion taste is kinda strong, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
I had been looking for the "negative calorie" soup recipe and I think this may be it! Very good! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States