Diet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is what I was looking for! I altered the recipe to all the leftover veggies in my fridge that needed to cook up...also added cayenne and fresh basil at the end...If you love veggies, try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Considering it's 'diet soup', it's not that bad. A little bland, it needs a boost. I used some extra veggies and some chicken broth and still it's missing something. I'll probably try it again with a few more alterations. Overall, super healthy and fairly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beloeil, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Saint Hyacinthe, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
When I was a child my mother would go on the cabbage diet a couple times a year. I was the only one who would eat this soup with her. This tastes just like hers, thank you I had forgotten how good this was. And its very easy to adjust depending on what veggies are on hand or in season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I made this today, and it is great. I did add a few more veges. But still a diet soup. I think it has a lot of flavor, it does make a lot, but on a diet it's nice not to have to cook something everyday. This is ready to eat when you need it. I really hope it helps me lose some weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I though this was great. When I was 13 I was overweight. So my mom made some soup like this and the only changes to my diet I made was to snack on this instead of chips, and candy etc. I lost 60 pounds in 2 months. I didn't care for the taste so much back then because I didn't care for veggies. Now that I like veggies this is a wonderful soup. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This soup is good, but and the recipe makes enough for about a week if you have a small househould like mine, which can become a little much. However, it is easy to spice up by the bowl to keep from getting board eating the same soup several days in a row. I recommend adding some Cumin to your individual serving, or some sriracha chili hot sauce to mix it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I omitted the dry onion soup, used Swanson vegetable broth for the base (adding a cup and a half extra since I had a lot of veggies), substituted 10 oz. of organic frozen peas for the green beans and added several cloves of fresh minced garlic, as well as two bay leaves, a tablespoon of parsley and a teaspoon each of thyme and oregano. I also added 2 tsp. of a high-quality extra virgin olive oil, for savor. With eight servings of soup, the oil adds only slightly more than one gram of fat per serving (the equivalent of eating one potato chip). I was very pleased with the result, which was light, savory and aromatic. I used an entire small head of organic green cabbage (with the extra broth) and did not find the soup too loaded. This is a good weight-loss soup, since one can really tuck in without consuming too many calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Very simple and easy and as previous raters said...versatile. You can add so many different ingredients to tailor it to your taste. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I love this recipe because you can personalize it so easily to fit your taste. I add one green pepper (chopped), one bunch of green onion (diced), one bunch of celery (diced), 2 chicken bullion cubes, one can of diced tomatoes, 3 dashes of hot sauce, 1 tsp. crushed red pepper, 1 tblsp. Italian seasoning. I omit the green beans and use only one packet of Lipton's onion. When the cabbage is almost tender, I add 16 oz of fresh bella mushrooms. Sometimes I'll add some ham to it. This makes a low calorie and very filling large pot of soup that will last a week in the fridge. You will not like this soup if you don't like cabbage. If this is the case, just omit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States